*** DEBUG END ***

Read any good theology lately? Michael Ramsey Prize wants to know

16 May 2023

Andrew Mackley

Professor John Swinton, who won the 2016 Michael Ramsey Prize for his book, Dementia: Living in the memories of God (SCM Press) (News, 2 September 2016)

Professor John Swinton, who won the 2016 Michael Ramsey Prize for his book, Dementia: Living in the memories of God (SCM Press) (News, 2 September 2016)

NOMINATIONS are open for the 2023 Michael Ramsey Prize for Theological Writing, which has been relaunched this year.

The Prize, which was launched by the then Archbishop of Canterbury, Lord Williams, in 2005, seeks to recognise the most promising contemporary theological writing from the global Church, and commend it to a wider readership.

Members of the public are asked to nominate books here. The closing date is 14 June.

The criteria for nominations are that: the book is by a living author; it was published between 1 January 2019 and 31 December 2022; it is written in, or has been translated into, English; and it is by no more than three authors.

The longlist and panel of judges are due to be announced in the summer; the shortlist will be announced in the autumn.

The winner will be awarded £15,000, to be announced at an awards ceremony in December. Shortlisted authors will receive £2500 each.

The most recent winner of the Michael Ramsey Prize, in 2019, was the Dean of St John’s College, Cambridge, Canon Mark Oakley (News, 30 August 2019). The award was given for his book The Splash of Words: Believing in poetry, published by Canterbury Press (Books, 25 November 2016).

Earlier winners are: John Swinton (2016), Luke Bretherton (2013), David Bentley Hart (2011), Richard Bauckham (2009), Timothy Radcliffe (2007), and N. T. Wright (2005).

The present Archbishop of Canterbury, the Most Revd Justin Welby, said: “It is absolutely vital that Christians engage thoughtfully, in a deep and robust manner, with scripture, doctrine, and tradition. Theology isn’t just for a few clever people — thinking about who God is to us is what humans have done for thousands of years. Relaunching the Martin Ramsey Prize in 2023 is a wonderful opportunity to support theological engagement across the Church.

“I pray we might be inspired afresh by the Spirit as we read, write, and reflect on the boundless hope, mercy, justice, and love of God in Jesus Christ. So, spread the word and get thinking, and let’s celebrate those writers who are challenging us in new ways to understand more about the boundless hope, mercy, justice, peace, and love of God.”


Browse Church and Charity jobs on the Church Times jobsite

Forthcoming Events

Green Church Awards

Closing date: 30 June 2024

Read more details about the awards


Festival of Preaching

15-17 September 2024

The festival moves to Cambridge along with a sparkling selection of expert speakers

tickets available



Festival of Faith and Literature

28 February - 2 March 2025

The festival programme is soon to be announced sign up to our newsletter to stay informed about all festival news.

Festival website


ViSIt our Events page for upcoming and past events 

Welcome to the Church Times


To explore the Church Times website fully, please sign in or subscribe.

Non-subscribers can read four articles for free each month. (You will need to register.)