*** DEBUG END ***


25 March 2022

Canterbury archdeacon

THE next Archdeacon of Canterbury and Residentiary Canon of Canterbury Cathedral is to be the Revd Dr William Adam, Deputy General Secretary of the Anglican Communion since 2021, and Director of the Department for Unity, Faith and Order since 2019. He will be installed in early July, and will be seconded to the Anglican Communion for the Lambeth Conference, from 26 July to 8 August. Dr Adam was ordained priest in 1995 and served in Oxford, Ely, and London dioceses before becoming the Archbishop of Canterbury’s Ecumenical Adviser, and Ecumenical Officer for the Council for Christian Unity in 2017.


Monmouth post

THE next Archdeacon of the Gwent Valleys is to be the Revd Stella Bailey, Vicar of St Nicholas’s and St Barnabas’s, Kenilworth, since 2016, and Area Dean of Kenilworth since 2018. She will also become Monmouth Diocesan Director of Mission. She was ordained priest in 2010 and has served all her ministry in Coventry diocese.


Isle of Wight post

THE Revd Alison Kerr, Vicar of St Cuthbert’s, Portsea, since 2019, is to be also Acting Archdeacon of the Isle of Wight, in Portsmouth diocese, from 1 April (correction).


ALLEN. The Revd Christine Allen, Assistant Curate (Associate Vicar) of Rainham, to be Priest-in-Charge of Grain with Stoke (Rochester).

BADGER. The Revd Mark Badger, Rector of the Severnside Parishes, and Area Dean of Malvern and Upton, now also Hon. Canon of Worcester Cathedral (Worcester).

BRADDY. The Revd Dr Richard Braddy, Chaplain to the Bishop of Dover, now also Assistant Curate of Tunstall and Bredgar (Canterbury).

BREWERTON. The Revd Andrew Brewerton, Area Dean of Wath, to be Joint Area Dean of Wath, remaining Vicar of Kilnhurst (Sheffield).

CLAYTON. The Revd Christopher Clayton, Assistant Curate of St Peter’s, High Harrogate (Leeds), to be Associate Vicar.

COLLEY. The Revd Williamina Colley, NSM in the Woodfield Team Ministry (Leicester), to be Vicar of Chipping (Blackburn).

COOKSEY. The Revd Diane Cooksey, Vicar of Warndon, and Area Dean of Worcester, now also Hon. Canon of Worcester Cathedral (Worcester).

CROSSLEY. The Revd Samuel Crossley, Assistant Curate of Draycott-le-Moors with Forsbrook (Blackburn), to be Vicar of Longton (Lichfield).

DANGERFIELD. The Revd Sarah Dangerfield, Priest-in-Charge of the Five Alive Parish, Curate-in-Charge of Bishampton with Throckmorton, and Area Dean of Pershore and Evesham, now also Hon. Canon of Worcester Cathedral (Worcester).

DIMOND. The Revd Dr Mark Dimond, Team Rector in the St Margaret with St Nicholas Team Ministry, King’s Lynn, and Hon. Canon of Norwich Cathedral, now also Bishop’s Advisory for Interreligious Dialogue (Norwich).

ELMS. The Revd Christian Elms, Priest-in-Charge of St Mark with St George, Worle (Bath & Wells), now Vicar.

FAUCHON-JONES. The Revd Susan Fauchon-Jones, formerly Rector of Horsmonden (Rochester), to be Chaplain of Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust (Canterbury and Rochester).

GARRARD. The Revd Helen Garrard, NS Assistant Curate (Assistant Priest) of the Bramerton Group (Rockland), Lead Chaplain to the Priscilla Bacon Centre and Norwich Community Hospitals, and Hon. Priest-Vicar of Norwich Cathedral, now also Bishop’s Adviser for Healthcare Chaplaincy (Norwich).

HAGAN-PALMER. The Revd David Hagan-Palmer, Vicar of Old Catton (Norwich), and Chaplain of Norwich Squadron (Air Training Corps), now also Bishop’s Adviser for Community Resilience and Cohesion (Norwich).

KITCHEN. The Revd Ian Kitchen, Priest-in-Charge of the Fountains Group (Leeds), to be Rector.

KOUBLE. The Revd Fiona Kouble, Vicar of Ardsley, to be also Priest-in-Charge of Darfield, and of Great Houghton Conventional District, and Joint Area Dean of Wath (Sheffield).

LAWLOR. The Revd Paul Lawlor, Team Vicar in the Holy Trinity Team Ministry, Redditch, Chaplain with Faith at Work in Worcestershire, and Area Dean of Redditch and Bromsgrove, now also Hon. Canon of Worcester Cathedral (Worcester).

LORDING. The Revd Claire Lording, Priest-in-Charge of Pershore with Pinvin, Wick and Birlingham, now also Hon. Canon of Worcester Cathedral (Worcester).

NAY. The Revd Imogen Nay, Canon for Evangelism and Discipleship of Chelmsford Cathedral (Chelmsford), to be Vicar of St Paul’s, Cambridge (Ely).

PARR. The Revd David Parr, formerly Interim house-for-duty Priest of Swainswick and Woolley, in St Saviour’s, Bath, with Swainswick and Woolley, now Interim Minister of All Saints’, Bath Weston, with North Stoke and Langridge (Bath & Wells).

RAJKUMAR. The Revd Dr Peniel Rajkumar, Global Theologian of USPG, now also Hon. Canon of Worcester Cathedral (Worcester).

SPENCELEY. The Revd Haydon Spenceley, Team Rector of the Emmanuel Church Team Ministry, Northampton, Assistant Rural Dean of Greater Northampton, and Assistant Diocesan Director of Ordinands, to be Diocesan Director of Ordinands and Director of Vocation and Formation, remaining Chaplain of Northampton Town Football Club (Peterborough).

STEER. The Revd Andrew Steer, Priest-in-Charge of the Upper Aire Benefice (Leeds), now Vicar.

TANNER. The Revd Benjamin Tanner, Assistant Curate of Endcliffe, to be Priest-in-Charge of Totley (Sheffield).

WARD. The Revd Lois Ward, Assistant Curate of Poulton Carleton and Singleton, to be part-time Vicar of Woodplumpton (Blackburn).

WHITE. The Revd Priscilla White, Vicar of St Faith and St Laurence, Harborne, now NS Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) of Kingsbury, and of Baxterley with Hurley and Wood End and Merevale with Bentley, remaining Hon. Canon of Birmingham Cathedral (Birmingham).

WILLIAMS. The Revd Timothy Williams, Team Rector in the St John the Baptist and the Holy Innocents Team Ministry, Kidderminster, and Area Dean of Kidderminster and Stourport, now also Hon. Canon of Worcester Cathedral (Worcester).

WYMAN. The Revd Caroline Wyman, Assistant Curate of St Mary’s with All Souls’, Priory Road, Kilburn, with St James’s, Hampstead (London), to be Assistant Curate of St John the Baptist, Eltham (Southwark).

YOUNG. The Revd Karen Young, Vicar of Heckmondwike with Norristhorpe and Liversedge, to be Rector of Ackworth and Badsworth (Leeds).


GARTON. Kashmir Garton, National Faith Lead for the Probation Service, Lay Chair of Redditch and Bromsgrove Deanery, now also Hon. Lay Canon of Worcester Cathedral (Worcester).

RICHARDS. Hugh Richards, Chair of the House of Laity, and Chair of the Diocese of Worcester Multi-Academy Trust, now also Hon. Lay Canon of Worcester Cathedral (Worcester).

SETCHELL. Samantha Setchell, Diocesan Director of Communications, now also Hon. Lay Canon of Worcester Cathedral (Worcester).

The Church Times Archive

Read reports from issues stretching back to 1863, search for your parish or see if any of the clergy you know get a mention.

FREE for Church Times subscribers.

Explore the archive

Train-a-Priest Fund 2022 Appeal

Please consider a donation to TAP Africa this year. Every penny you can give goes to ordinands in Africa who face financial difficulty, to support them as they complete their training. 

Donate online

Read more about this year's appeal

Welcome to the Church Times

​To explore the Church Times website fully, please sign in or subscribe.

Non-subscribers can read four* articles for free each month. (You will need to register.)

*Until the end of June: we’re doubling the number of free articles to eight, to celebrate the publication of our Platinum Jubilee double issue.