*** DEBUG END ***


17 December 2021

Irish deans

THE next Dean of Ossory in Cashel, Ferns & Ossory diocese is to be the Revd Stephen Farrell, Rector of Zion, Rathgar, in Dublin & Glendalough diocese, since 2011. He will also serve as Rector of the Kilkenny Union.

The Revd James Mulhall, Priest-in-Charge of the Kells Union since 2017, and Canon of St Canice’s Cathedral, Kilkenny, since 2018, is to be the next Dean of Cashel, and Rector of the Cashel Union in Cashel, Ferns & Ossory diocese.


Lay Ministry Officer

THE Ven. Karen Hutchinson, Archdeacon of Norwich and Warden of Readers, since 2016, has been appointed Lay Ministry Development Officer for Salisbury diocese. She will take up post in the spring.


ALEXANDER. The Revd Nicholas Alexander, Assistant Curate (Associate Vicar) of Moulton (Peterborough), to be Vicar.

BENOY. The Revd Stephen Benoy, Diocesan Director of Ordinands, Director of Vocation and Formation, and Canon of Peterborough Cathedral, to be Chaplain to the Bishop of Peterborough, and Canon Missioner of Peterborough Cathedral (Peterborough).

DALLISTON. The Revd Michelle Dalliston, Interim Vicar of Higham Ferrers with Chelverton, to be Interim Vicar of St John the Baptist, Peterborough (Peterborough).

DAVIS. The Revd Nicholas Davis, Priest-in-Charge of St Cuthbert’s, Darwen, with Tockholes (Blackburn), to be Vicar.

DEMPSEY. The Revd Oliver Dempsey, Assistant Curate of Cowgate, now Assistant Curate of St George’s and St Hilda’s, Newcastle upon Tyne (Newcastle).

FITTER. The Revd Ruth Fitter, Vicar of St Paul and St Stephen, Gloucester, and Area Dean of Gloucester City (Gloucester), to be Team Chaplain of the Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (Oxford).

GODFREY. The Rt Revd William Godfrey, formerly Vicar of Lastingham with Appleton-le-Moors, Rosedale and Cropton (York), to be Hon. Assistant Bishop (Leeds).

GREGORY. The Revd Mary Gregory, Team Rector in the Flagstaff Team Ministry, and Diocesan Rural Mission Enabler (Leicester), to be Canon for Arts and Reconciliation of Coventry Cathedral (Coventry).

HORSFALL. The Revd Andrew Horsfall, Chaplaincy and Spiritual Care Manager of East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust, to be also Area Dean of Blackburn with Darwen (Blackburn).

HOWARTH. The Revd Miles Howarth, part-time Priest-in-Charge of Christ Church and St George’s, Denton, and Assistant Curate of Haughton and of Audenshaw, to be part-time Rector of Christ Church and St George’s, Denton (Manchester).

LARKEY. The Revd Deborah Larkey, Team Rector in the Vale of Pewsey Team Ministry, and Canon and Prebendary of Salisbury Cathedral (Salisbury), to be part-time Vicar of Lund (Blackburn).

ONYEMAOBI. The Revd Calebmark Onyemaobi, formerly in the Church of Nigeria, now NS Assistant Curate of St Anne’s, Hoxton (London).

PATERSON. The Revd Alan Paterson, Vicar of Cowgate, and Priest-in-Charge of Newbiggin Hall, to be Priest-in-Charge of St Peter’s and St Luke’s, Wallsend, remaining Hon. Canon of Newcastle Cathedral (Newcastle).

ROCHE. The Revd Dr Amy Roche, Licensed Ministry Training Co-ordinator of the Winchester School of Mission, to be Dean of Licensed Ministry Training (Winchester).

ROGERS. The Revd David Rogers, NS Assistant Curate (Assistant Minister) of Escrick and Stillingfleet with Naburn, and of Bubwith with Skipwith, now house-for-duty Priest-in-Charge of Bubwith with Skipwith (York).

ROMANIS. The Revd Adam Romanis, Priest-in-Charge of Heslington and of St Lawrence with St Nicholas, York (York), now Vicar of both.

ROWLES. The Revd Elizabeth Rowles, Assistant Curate in the Heatons Team Ministry (Manchester), to be Team Vicar.

SANDER-HEYS. The Revd Jemma Sander-Heys, Team Vicar in the Great Yarmouth Team Ministry (Norwich), to be part-time Vicar of Oakworth (Leeds).

SIDDALL. The Revd Dr Mark Siddall, Assistant Curate of the Draycot Benefice (Bristol), to be Priest-in-Charge of Quedgeley (Gloucester).

SMALING. The Revd Christopher Smaling, NS Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) of Aldersbrooke (Chelmsford), now NS Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) of St Giles-in-the-Fields, London (London).

SMITH. The Revd Michael Smith, Rector of Winton, Moordown and Charminster, to be also Area Dean of Bournemouth (Winchester).

TURNER. The Revd Jacqueline Turner, NS Assistant Curate of St James the Less, Hadleigh and of St Barnabas’s, Hadleigh, to be NS Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) of Rawreth and of Rettendon and Hullbridge (Chelmsford).

WILLETTS. The Revd Susan Willetts, Vicar of the Good Shepherd, Loughborough, to be also Interim Diocesan Director of Ordinands (Leicester).


COTTER. The Revd Robert Cotter, NS Priest-in-Charge of St Mary Magdalene’s, Belfast, to be NS Priest-in-Charge of Ardclinis, Tickmacrevan with Layde and Cushendun (Connor).

DOYLE. The Revd Alistair Doyle, Deacon of Kilternan (Dublin), to be Clerical Assistant of Galway (Tuam, Killala & Achonry).

FARRELL. The Revd Lindsay Farrell, Bishop’s Curate of the Inver Group (Derry & Raphoe), to be Rector of Maguiresbridge and Derrybrusk (Clogher).

GRIMASON. The Very Revd Alistair Grimason, Dean of Tuam and Rector of the Tuam Group, to be also Rector of the Clifden Group (Tuam, Killala & Achonry).

HARRIS. The Revd Suzanne Harris, Priest-in-Charge of the Castlemacadam Group, now also Joint Diocesan Director of Ordinands (Dublin & Glendalough).

JEFFREY. The Revd William Jeffrey, Assistant Curate of Ballymacash (Connor), to be Rector of Lisbellaw with Coolbuck (Clogher).

McGAFFIN. The Revd Judith McGaffin, Bishop’s Curate-in-Charge of the Fahan Group, now also Canon of St Eunan’s Cathedral, Raphoe (Derry & Raphoe).

McWHIRTER. The Revd Jennifer McWhirter, Rector of the Aughaval Group, and Diocesan Director of Ordinands, to be also Canon of St Mary’s Cathedral, Tuam, and of St Patrick’s Cathedral, Killala (Tuam, Killala & Achonry).

McWHIRTER. The Ven. Stephen McWhirter, Rector of the Kilmoremoy Union, to be also Rector of the Killala Group (Tuam, Killala & Achonry).

O’BRIEN. The Revd Thomas O’Brien, NS Assistant Curate of the Holmpatrick Group, now also Joint Diocesan Director of Ordinands (Dublin & Glendalough).

O’KELLY. The Revd Ruth O’Kelly, Priest-in-Charge of the Clane Union, now also Joint Diocesan Director of Ordinands (Meath & Kildare).

PEILOW. The Very Revd Lynda Peilow, Provost of Galway (Tuam, Killala & Achonry), now also Central Director of Ordinands for the Church of Ireland.

PIERPOINT. The Revd Nigel Pierpoint, Assistant Curate of Taney (Dublin & Glendalough), now Rector.

ROBINSON. The Revd Lesley Robinson, Rector of Clontarf, now also Canon of Christ Church Cathedral, Dublin (Dublin & Glendalough).


GILDEA. Florence Gildea to be Social Policy Adviser to the Bishop of Leicester (Leicester).

The Church Times Archive

Read reports from issues stretching back to 1863, search for your parish or see if any of the clergy you know get a mention.

FREE for Church Times subscribers.

Explore the archive

Train-a-Priest Fund 2022 Appeal

Please consider a donation to TAP Africa this year. Every penny you can give goes to ordinands in Africa who face financial difficulty, to support them as they complete their training. 

Donate online

Read more about this year's appeal

Welcome to the Church Times

​To explore the Church Times website fully, please sign in or subscribe.

Non-subscribers can read four* articles for free each month. (You will need to register.)

*Until the end of June: we’re doubling the number of free articles to eight, to celebrate the publication of our Platinum Jubilee double issue.