*** DEBUG END ***

Review of the year 2021: Appointments

17 December 2021

Church in Wales

The Rt Revd Andrew John. See gallery for more photos

The Rt Revd Andrew John. See gallery for more photos

EPISCOPAL appointments noted in the Church Times during the year included those of the Bishop of Bangor, the Rt Revd Andrew John, as Archbishop of Wales; the Ven. John Lomas as Bishop of Swansea & Brecon; Canon Keith Riglin as Bishop of Argyll & The Isles; the Bishop of Ely, the Rt Revd Stephen Conway, as also Act­ing Bishop of Lincoln (for a year); Dr Emma Ineson, Suffragan Bishop of Penrith, as Bishop to the Arch­bishops of Canterbury and York; the Bishop of St Germans, the Rt Revd Hugh Nelson, as Bishop to the Armed Forces; the Area Bishop of Croydon, the Rt Revd Jonathan Clark, as Episcopal Commissary for the Falkland Islands.

The Ven. Dr Jane Steen as Suffragan Bishop of Lynn; the Revd Saju Muthalaly as Suffragan Bishop of Loughborough; Canon Lusa Nsenga-Ngoy as Area Bishop of Willesden; the Revd Lynne Cullens as Area Bishop of Barking; the Ven. Julie Conalty as Suffragan Bishop of Birkenhead; Canon Sam Corley as Suffragan Bishop of Stockport; and Canon Anthony Ball as an assistant bishop in the diocese of Egypt.

The Bishop of Chelmsford, Dr Guli Francis-Dehqani, as lead bishop for housing; the Bishop of Norwich, the Rt Revd Graham Usher, as lead bishop for the environment; the Bishop of Bristol, the Rt Revd Vivienne Faull, and the Bishop of Ramsbury, the Rt Revd Andrew Rumsey, as joint lead bishops for church and cathedral buildings.

AMONG clergy appointments were those of the Revd Kelly Betteridge as Archdeacon of Bodmin; Canon Verena Breed as Archdeacon of Barnstaple; the Revd Roderick Green as Archdeacon of Llandaff; Canon Ian Rees as Archdeacon of Mon­­mouth and Diocesan Director of Min­­istry and Discipleship; the Revd Rachel Wood as Archdeacon of Northumberland; the Revd Angela Martin as Archdeacon of Horsham; the Revd Alison Booker as Arch­deacon of Oakham; the Revd William Braviner as Archdeacon of Halifax; the Revd Samuel Van Leer as Archdeacon of North-West Europe.

The Revd Jonathan Sedgwick as Acting Archdeacon of Southwark; the Very Revd Nigel Godfrey as Act­ing Archdeacon of Man; the Ven. Peter Townley as Acting Archdeacon of Halifax; the Revd Toby Hole as Acting Arch­deacon of Sheffield and Rotherham; the Revd Dr Megan Smith as Arch­deacon of Stoke-upon-Trent.

The Revd Ian Black as Dean of Newport; the Revd Abigail Thomp­son as Dean of Sheffield; the Ven. Jo Kelly-Moore as Dean of St Albans; the Revd Paul Maybury as Acting Dean of Bradford; the Revd Sarah Brown as Dean of Hereford; Canon Elizabeth Thomson as Pro­vost of St Paul’s Cathedral, Dundee; Canon Gra­­ham Taylor as Dean of St Andrews, Dunkeld & Dunblane dio­­cese.

The Revd Dr Will Adam as Deputy Sec­­retary General of the Anglican Communion; the Ven. Mark Stead­man as Chief of Staff to the Arch­bishop of York; the Revd David D’Silva SSC as National Missioner of The Society; Canon Professor Peter Neil as chair of the Col­leges and Uni­­versities of the Angli­can Commun­ion; the Revd Sister Diana CHN as Provincial Superior of the Commun­­ity of the Holy Name; and Canon John Dunnett as Strat­egy and Opera­tions Director of the Church of Eng­­land Evan­gelical Council.

LAY appointments included those of Fiona Bruce MP as the Govern­ment’s Special Envoy for Freedom of Religion or Belief (FoRB); Helen Grant MP as the UK’s first Special Envoy on Girls’ Education; Robert Hammond as Chair of the General Synod’s Business Committee; Ed Shaw as Co-Chair of the Church of England Evangelical Council; Dr Julia Edward as Climate Change Champion for the Church in Wales.

Alan Smith as First Church Estates Commissioner; Dr Sonia Dore as a Guardian of the Shrine of Our Lady of Walsing­ham; Professor Medwin Hughes as Chair of the Representative Body of the Church in Wales; Dr Nicola Brady as the General Secretary of Churches Together in Britain and Ireland; Dr Maggie Atkinson as Chair of the Board of the Indepen­dent Safe­guard­ing Board; Chine McDonald as Director of Theos; and Aike Kennett-Brown as Ministry Lead for Messy Church of the BRF.

THE President of the Evangelical Church of Westphalia, Dr Annette Kurschus, was elected President of the Evangelical Church in Germany.

Browse Church and Charity jobs on the Church Times jobsite

The Church Times Archive

Read reports from issues stretching back to 1863, search for your parish or see if any of the clergy you know get a mention.

FREE for Church Times subscribers.

Explore the archive

Welcome to the Church Times


To explore the Church Times website fully, please sign in or subscribe.

Non-subscribers can read four articles for free each month. (You will need to register.)