21 February 2020

Aberdeen & Orkney dean

THE next Dean of Aberdeen & Orkney is to be the Revd Dr Dennis Berk, Rector of St James the Less, Cruden Bay, and of St Mary-on-the-Rock, Ellon, in Aberdeen & Orkney diocese, since 2018.

He was ordained priest in 1991 in Canada and has served there, in the US, and in Zambia. From 2009 until 2018, he was a member of the Community of the Resurrection, Mirfield, and Guest Brother of the Mirfield Centre. He will be installed next Friday.

St Albans archdeacon

THE new Archdeacon of St Albans is the Revd Dr Jane Mainwaring, Team Vicar in the Hitchin and St Paul’s Walden Team Ministry since 2016, Rural Dean of Hitchin since 2015, and Hon. Canon of St Albans Cathedral since last year. Dr Mainwaring was ordained priest in 2001, served her title in St Edmundsbury & Ipswich diocese, and then became Team Vicar in the Hitchin Team Ministry in 2003.

She is married to James, a professional musician, with whom she has two children of secondary-school age.

BECK. The Revd Stephen Beck, Rector of Kirk Sandall and Edenthorpe (Sheffield), to be Assistant Curate in the Wigan Team Ministry (Liverpool).

BRENNAND. The Revd Carol Brennand, Priest-in-Charge of the West Leightonstone Benefice (Ely), to be Rector.

BULLEN. The Revd Jacqueline Bullen, Vicar of Longthorpe, to be also Assistant Rural Dean of Peterborough (Peterborough).

CATTERMOLE. The Revd Elke Cattermole, Priest-in-Charge of Bildeston with Wattisham and Lindsey, Whatfield with Semer, Nedging and Naughton (St Edmundsbury & Ipswich), to be Rector.

HALLETT. The Revd Caroline Hallett, Priest-in-Charge of Acton with Great Waldingfield (St Edmundsbury & Ipswich), to be Rector.

HAWORTH. The Revd Mark Haworth, Team Rector in the Lark Valley and North Bury Team Ministry, Rural Dean of Thingoe, and Hon. Canon of St Edmundsbury Cathedral (St Edmundsbury & Ipswich), to be house-for-duty Assistant Curate (Associate Team Vicar) in the Dorchester Team Ministry (Oxford).

HAYES. The Revd David Hayes, Chaplain of the Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust, to be Chaplain to HM Prison Wealstun (York).

HILL. The Revd Dr Simon Hill, Rector of the Suffolk Heights Benefice, now also Assistant Rural Dean of Clare (St Edmundsbury & Ipswich).

HOLE. The Revd Toby Hole, Assistant Curate of Norton, to be Priest-in-Charge, remaining Vicar of Woodseats, Assistant Curate of Greenhill and of Norton Lees, and Area Dean of Ecclesall (Sheffield).

HURST. The Revd Colin Hurst, Vicar of Eye, Newborough and Thorney, to be also Assistant Rural Dean of Peterborough (Peterborough).

KALSI. The Revd Gina Kalsi, Vicar of Malin Bridge, to be Pioneer Evangelist of Attercliffe and Darnall Centre of Mission (Sheffield).

KINGDOM. The Revd Paul Kingdom, NS Assistant Curate (Associate Vicar) of Dulverton with Brushford, Brompton Regis, Upton and Skilgate (Bath & Wells), to be part-time Rector of the Silverton Mission Community (Silverton, Butterleigh, Bickleigh and Cadeleigh) (Exeter).

MACHIRIDZA. The Revd Douglas Machiridza, Vicar of St Andrew’s, Handsworth, and Priest-in-Charge of St James’s, Handsworth, to be Area Dean of Handsworth and Central (Birmingham).

MILLARD. The Revd Paul Millard, Assistant Curate of Clifton, to be Rector of St Paul’s, Holgate Road, York, and Priest-in-Charge of St Barnabas’s, York (York).

MOORE. The Revd Michael Moore, Vicar of St Mary’s, Boongate, Peterborough, to be also Rural Dean of Peterborough (Peterborough).

NORFOLK. The Revd Kirsten Norfolk, Assistant Curate of Ludgvan, Marazion, St Hilary and Perranuthnoe, now Assistant Curate of the West Kerrier Benefice, and of Helston and Wendron (Truro).

STEPHENS. The Revd Rebecca Stephens, Rector of the Whiteacres, Lea Marstone and Shustoke, and Joint Area Dean of Coleshill and Polesworth, to be Vicar of Maney, remaining Bishop’s Adviser for Women’s Ministry (Birmingham).

TALLOWIN. The Revd Rosemary Tallowin, Priest-in-Charge of Fen Drayton with Fenstanton (Ely), to be Vicar.

TERRY. The Revd Jeffrey Terry, NS Assistant Curate of the Week St Mary Circle of Parishes, and of the Boscastle and Tintagel Group, to be NS Assistant Curate of the Camel-Allen Benefice (Truro).

THOMAS. The Revd Joanna Thomas, NS Assistant Curate of St Buryan, St Levan and Sennan, now NS Assistant Curate of Gulval and Madron (Truro).

YAULL. The Revd Louise Yaull, NS Assistant Curate of Malin Bridge, to be Assistant Curate of Crosspool, remaining Chaplaincy Team Leader of Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (Sheffield).


BURTON. The Revd Richard Burton, formerly Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) of Whittington and West Felton with Haughton (Lichfield), now Mission Area Leader in the Tanat-Vyrnwy Mission Area (St Asaph).

MORRIS. The Revd Norman Morris, house-for-duty Priest in the Cedewain Mission Area, now house-for-duty Priest in the Tanat-Vyrnwy Mission Area (St Asaph).

SHOTTON. The Revd Heather Shotton, NS Assistant Curate in the Wrexham Mission Area, to be NS Assistant Curate in the Offa Mission Area (St Asaph).


KALSI. Captain Kinderpaljit Kalsi CA, Lead Evangelist of Sheffield Centre of Mission, to be Lead Evangelist of Attercliffe and Darnall Centre of Mission (Sheffield).


HAMILTON. Alexander Hamilton, Organ Scholar of Westminster Abbey, to be Assistant Director of Music of Wells Cathedral (Bath & Wells).

LITTLE. Tom Little, Sub-Organist of Croydon Minster (Southwark), now Director of Music of Christ Church Cathedral, Dublin (Dublin & Glendalough).

MAHON. Rachel Mahon, Assistant Director of Music of Coventry Cathedral (Coventry), to be Director of Music.

The Church Times Archive

Read reports from issues stretching back to 1863, search for your parish or see if any of the clergy you know get a mention.

FREE for Church Times subscribers.

Explore the archive

Church Times: about us

Welcome to the Church Times

​To explore the Church Times website fully, please sign in or subscribe.

Non-subscribers can read four articles for free each month. (You will need to register.)