*** DEBUG END ***

Review of the Year 2020: Appointments

18 December 2020

The Most Revd John McDowell. See gallery for more photos

The Most Revd John McDowell. See gallery for more photos

A NEW Archbishop of Armagh and Primate of All Ireland was elected in 2020. The Rt Revd John McDowell was translated from Clogher.

The Bishop of West Kowloon, the Rt Revd Andrew Chan, was elected as Archbishop of Hong Kong; and the Rt Revd Matthias Tze-wo Der as Bishop Coadjutor of Hong Kong Island.

The Bishop in Egypt & North Africa (the Rt Revd Mouneer Anis) became Archbishop of Alexandria and Bishop of Egypt; the Area Bishop for North Africa (the Rt Revd Samy Fawzy) became Coadjutor Bishop of Egypt.

Other episcopal appointments announced during the year included those of the Rt Revd Kevin Pearson as Bishop of Glasgow & Galloway; the Revd Hugh Nelson as Suffragan Bishop of St Germans; the Ven. George Davison as Bishop of Connor; the Revd Dr Andrew Emerton as Suffragan Bishop of Sherwood; the Revd Ruth Bushyager as Suffragan Bishop of Horsham; Prebendary William Hazlewood as Suffragan Bishop of Lewes.

The Rt Revd Mark Tanner as Bishop of Chester, translated from Berwick; the Ven. Matthew Parker as Area Bishop of Stafford; the Ven. Mark Wroe as Suffragan Bishop of Berwick; Canon Malcolm Macnaughton as Suffragan Bishop of Repton; Canon Ian Ellis as Bishop of Clogher; the Ven. Gavin Collins as Area Bishop of Dorchester.

The Bishop of Huddersfield (Dr Jonathan Gibbs) as lead bishop for safeguarding, and Bishop of Southampton (the Rt Revd Debbie Sellin) as deputy lead bishop for safeguarding; and the Bishop of Bristol (the Rt Revd Vivienne Faull) as additional deputy lead bishop for safeguarding; the Bishop of Birkenhead (until 8 March 2021) (the Rt Revd Keith Sinclair) as National Director of the Church of England Evangelical Council.


CLERICAL appointments included those of the Very Revd Margaret Campbell as Dean of Argyll & The Isles; the Ven. Jonathan Chafey as Archdeacon of Oxford; the Revd Richard Frank as Archdeacon of Middlesex; the Revd Jennifer Rowley as Archdeacon of Portsdown; the Revd Javaid Iqbal as Archdeacon of Doncaster; the Revd Dr Jane Mainwaring as Archdeacon of St Albans.

The Revd Dr Dennis Berk as Dean of Aberdeen & Orkney; the Revd Dr Amanda Bloor as Archdeacon of Cleveland; the Revd Adam Atkinson as Archdeacon of Charing Cross; the Revd Catherine Pickford as Archdeacon of Northolt; the Ven. Peter Robinson as Dean of Derby; the Revd Kenneth Higgins as Archdeacon of Down; the Revd Libby Wilkinson as Archdeacon of Durham.

Canon Mandy Ford as Dean of Bristol; the Revd Russell Winfield as Dean of St Mellitus College; the Revd Dr Catherine Sourbut Groves as Archdeacon of Lindisfarne; the Ven. Stephen Taylor as Archdeacon in the diocese of Canterbury and Senior Chaplain to the Bishop of Dover; the Revd Andrew Sewell as Archdeacon of Maidstone; the Ven. Barry Forde as Archdeacon of Belfast.

The Revd Terence Mitchell as Archdeacon of Killaloe, Kilfenora, Clonfert and Kilmacduagh; the Revd Dr Peter Hooper as Archdeacon of France; the Revd Fiona Gibson as Archdeacon of Ludlow.

The Revd Dr Michael Spence as President and Provost of University College London; the Revd Dr Michael Leyden as Director of Emmanuel Theological College; the Revd Dr Helen Dawes as Principal of Westcott House, Cambridge; Prebendary Isabelle Hamley as Secretary for Ecumenical Relations and Theology and Theological Adviser to the House of Bishops.


IN THE religious communities, Sister Mary Julian CHC was elected as Mother Superior of the Community of the Holy Cross; and Sister Anne Clarke OSB as Abbess of Malling Abbey.

Other lay appointments included those of Andrew Selous MP as the Second Church Estates Commissioner; Professor Clive Marsh as the next Principal of the Queen’s Foundation for Ecumenical Theological Education; Morag Ellis QC as Dean of the Arches and Auditor; Bess Joffe as Head of Responsible Investment for the Church Commissioners; Richard Tilbrook as the Prime Minister’s Appointments Secretary.

Bradley Smith as Chairman of the Trustees of the Prayer Book Society; Paul Woolley as Chief Executive of the London Institute for Contemporary Christianity; Michael Pratten as Chief Investment Officer of the Church of England Pensions Board; Dr Sanjee Perera as National Adviser to the Committee for Minority-Ethnic Anglican Concerns and Adviser to the Archbishops of Canterbury and York; Vanessa Morphet as Head of Social Impact Investment for the Church of England.

Tom Little as Director of Music of Christ Church Cathedral, Dublin; Rachel Mahon as Director of Music of Coventry Cathedral; and Timothy Parsons as Director of Music of St Edmundsbury Cathedral.

The Church Times Archive

Read reports from issues stretching back to 1863, search for your parish or see if any of the clergy you know get a mention.

FREE for Church Times subscribers.

Explore the archive

Welcome to the Church Times

​To explore the Church Times website fully, please sign in or subscribe.

Non-subscribers can read four* articles for free each month. (You will need to register.)

*Until the end of June: we’re doubling the number of free articles to eight, to celebrate the publication of our Platinum Jubilee double issue.