*** DEBUG END ***


11 September 2020

Canterbury archdeacons

THE new Archdeacon and Senior Chaplain to the Bishop of Dover, in Canterbury diocese, is the Ven. Stephen Taylor, Archdeacon of Maidstone since 2011. The Revd Andrew Sewell, Priest-in-Charge of St Paul’s, Maidstone, since 2010, Area Dean of Maidstone since 2010, and Hon. Canon of Canterbury Cathedral since 2011, will become Archdeacon of Maidstone on 27 September.

Archdeacon Taylor came to the diocese of Canterbury from Durham, where he had served since his ordination to the diaconate in 1983. Canon Sewell was ordained priest in 1994 and served his title in the diocese of Ripon. He has served in Canterbury diocese since 1998.


COCKING. The Revd Keith Cocking, Team Vicar in the Buxton with Burbage and King Sterndale Team Ministry, to be Rector of Elmton with Creswell and Whitwell with Steetley (Derby).

DODD. The Revd Andrew Dodd, Team Rector in the Great Grimsby Team Ministry, Area Dean of Grimsby and Cleethorpes, and Canon and Prebendary of Lincoln Cathedral (Lincoln), to be Canon Treasurer of Canterbury Cathedral (Canterbury).

LAVENDER. The Revd Christopher Lavender, Priest-in-Charge of Allington and St Peter’s, Maidstone, and of Barming Heath, to be also Area Dean of Maidstone (Canterbury).

LLOYD-EVANS. The Revd Charlotte Lloyd-Evans, Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) in the Abu Dhabi Chaplaincy, United Arab Emirates (Cyprus & the Gulf, Jerusalem and the Middle East), to be Priest-in-Charge of Greenhithe and of Swanscombe (Rochester).

MARLOW. The Revd Jonathan Marlow, Diocesan Mission and Ministry Development Team Leader (Exeter), to be Diocesan Director of Ordinands and Vocations Officer (Canterbury).

NELSON. The Revd Michael Nelson, Assistant Curate of St George’s, Gravesend, to be Vicar of Holy Trinity, Gillingham (Rochester).

RAKIN. The Revd Vlada Rakin, NS Assistant Curate of West Ewell, now NS Assistant Curate of Walton-on-Thames (Guildford).

SAUVEN. The Revd Edward Suaven, Assistant Curate of Tewkesbury with Walton Cardiff and Twyning, to be Pioneer Minister of Wayfarers, Stroud (Gloucester).

SHOWERS. The Revd Cyril Showers, NS Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) of Northfleet and Rosherville and of Perry Street, now Priest-in-Charge in the Northfleet and Rosherville Team Ministry (Rochester).

YOUNG. The Revd Dr Mandy Young, Assistant Curate (Community and Mission Priest) of St Alban’s, Dartford, and of St Edmund the King and Martyr, Dartford (Rochester), to be Priest-in-Charge of both.


BARRATT. The Revd Philip Barratt, Leader of the Bro Cwyfan Ministry Area, and Canon of Bangor Cathedral (Bangor), to be Priest-in-Charge in the Aled Mission Area (St Asaph).

BROWN. The Revd Janice Brown, Leader of the Plwyf Dwylan Ministry Area (Bangor), to be Priest-in-Charge in the Aled Mission Area (St Asaph).

CAWDELL. The Revd Dominic Cawdell, Assistant Curate in the Alyn Mission Area, to be Priest-in-Charge in the Estuary and Mountain Mission Area (St Asaph).

CRANE. The Revd Janet Crane, formerly OLM of Chell (Lichfield), now Assistant Curate in the Aber-Morfa Mission Area (St Asaph).

ERLANDSON. The Revd Samuel Erlandson, Priest-in-Charge in the Wrexham Mission Area, to be Leader of the Aberconwy Mission Area (St Asaph).

KITCHEN. The Revd Andrew Kitchen, Assistant Curate of Holy Trinity, Brompton, with St Paul’s, Onslow Square, and St Augustine’s, South Kensington (London), now Joint Lead Minister of the Hope Street Project, in the Wrexham Mission Area (St Asaph).

KITCHEN. The Revd Rachel Kitchen, Assistant Curate of Holy Trinity, Brompton, with St Paul’s, Onslow Square, and St Augustine’s, South Kensington (London), now Joint Lead Minister of the Hope Street Project, in the Wrexham Mission Area (St Asaph).

LIPSCOMB. The Revd Timothy Lipscomb, formerly Rector of St John and St George the Martyr with Christ the King Chapel, Preston, and Hon. Canon of Blackburn Cathedral (Blackburn), now Priest-in-Charge in the Bryn a Môr Mission Area (St Asaph).

PRITCHARD. The Revd Martin Pritchard, Assistant Curate in the Llandudno Ministry Area (Bangor), to be house-for-duty Priest-in-Charge in the Denbigh Mission Area (St Asaph).

STEWART. The Revd Kathryn Stewart, NS Assistant Curate in the Mold Mission Area (St Asaph), now NS Priest-in-Charge.


HOPKINS. Robin Hopkins, Deputy Diocesan Chancellor (Chichester), now Commissary General (Canterbury).

MYERS. Clive Myers to be Leader in the Aled Mission Area (St Asaph).

QUARTON. Rob Quarton, formerly Relationship and Development Manager of Frontline, to be Deputy Diocesan Secretary (Worcester).

Browse Church and Charity jobs on the Church Times jobsite

The Church Times Archive

Read reports from issues stretching back to 1863, search for your parish or see if any of the clergy you know get a mention.

FREE for Church Times subscribers.

Explore the archive

Forthcoming Events


Church Times/RSCM: 

Intercultural Church for a Multicultural World

28 May 2024

A Church Times/Church House Publishing webinar

Tickets are FREE


Church Times/Modern Church:

A Political Faith?

Monday 3 June 2024

This panel will explore where Christians have come to in terms of political power and ask, where should we go next?

Online tickets available


Church Times/Modern Church:

Participating in Democracy

Monday 10 June 2024

This panel will explore the power of voting, and power beyond voting.

Online tickets available


Green Church Awards

Closing date: 30 June 2024

Read more details about the awards


Church Times/Canterbury Press:

Festival of Preaching

15-17 September 2024

The festival moves to Cambridge along with a sparkling selection of expert speakers

Early bird tickets available



Welcome to the Church Times


To explore the Church Times website fully, please sign in or subscribe.

Non-subscribers can read four articles for free each month. (You will need to register.)