*** DEBUG END ***

Review of the Year 2019: Deaths

20 December 2019

Diocese of St Albans

The Rt Revd Richard Inwood

The Rt Revd Richard Inwood

THE Rt Revd Lord Habgood, formerly Bishop of Durham and Archbishop of York, died during 2019. Among other deaths in the episcopate during the year were those of the Rt Revd Richard Inwood, formerly Bishop of Bedford; the Rt Revd Kenneth Newing OSB, formerly Bishop of Plymouth; the Rt Revd Roy Williamson, former Bishop of Bradford and of South­wark; the Rt Revd John Kirkham, former Bishop of Sherborne; and the Rt Revd Ronald Brown, former Bishop of Birkenhead.

Mgr Edwin Barnes, first Bishop of Richborough, died.

The death was also recorded of Peter Ball, former Bishop of Lewes and of Gloucester.

DEATHS recorded among the clergy included those of the Revd John Enever, NHS Chaplain in Devon; the Revd Jill Garfitt, OLM of Christ Church with Emmanuel, Clifton; the Revd Benny Hazlehurst, Salisbury Diocesan Vocations Adviser; the Revd John Teed, NSM of Dawlish, Cofton and Starcross; the Revd Dr Brenda Gibson, NSM of Wimborne Minster and the Northern Villages; the Revd Sarah Geach, Hon. Assistant Curate of Llanwnda and Goodwick with Manorowen and Llanstinan; the Revd James McKinney, Vicar of Roehampton

The Revd Christina Brewer, Associate Priest of the Canonry Benefice; the Revd Peter Legg, Associate Priest of Radipole and Melcombe Regis; the Revd Dermot Verschoyle, NSM of Merrow; the Revd Alan Butler, Vicar of High Crompton and Thornham; the Revd Mark Morton, Rector of Harting with Elsted and Treyford cum Didling; the Revd Derrick Sheppard, Priest-in-Charge of the Guiltcross Benefice; the Revd Susan Cox, NSM in Cotswolds villages; the Revd Graham Jones, Assistant Curate of Kilternan; the Revd Paul Yiend, Assistant Chaplain in Liège, Belgium; and the Ven. Ian Morgan, Archdeacon of Suffolk.

Canon Rodney Marshall, a Manchester Catholic known as “Red Rod”; the Ven. George Austin, former Archdeacon of York; Canon Michael Green, evangelist; the Revd Professor David Martin, sociologist and champion of the Prayer Book; the Very Revd John Lewis, former Dean of Llandaff; Canon Chris Neal, formerly of CMS; the Ven. Michael Chapman, former Archdeacon of Northampton; Canon John Goodchild, for­mer Principal of Trinity Theological College, Nigeria.

Canon Tony Williamson

Canon Tony Williamson, former worker priest and education officer; Canon Richard Askew, former Rector of Bath Abbey; the Very Revd Michael Yorke, former Provost of Ports­mouth and Dean of Lichfield; the Ven. Clive Cohen, former Arch­deacon of Bodmin; Prebendary Richard Bewes, former Rector of All Souls’, Langham Place; the Very Revd John Simpson, former Dean of Canterbury; the Ven. John Burgess, former Archdeacon of Bath; the Revd Dr Humphrey Fisher, pioneer of Religious Studies at SOAS; Canon Norman Todd, former Archbishop’s Adviser for Bishops’ Ministry.

The Ven. Frederick Hazell, former Archdeacon of Croydon; the Very Revd Edward Shotter, former Dean of Rochester; the Ven. Norman Warren, former Archdeacon of Rochester; the Revd Brian Dodsworth, former prison chaplain; the Revd Sue Peake, priest in inner south London, and former social worker.

The Revd Alan Rabjohns, former chairman of Forward in Faith Wales; the Very Revd David Thomas, former Dean of Brisbane; the Ven. Raymond Roberts, former Chaplain of the Fleet; Canon John Gaunt Hunter, ecumenical missioner.


JEAN VANIER, founder of L’Arche, died in 2019.

Other deaths among the laity included those of Derek Holman, musician; Dr Roger Hurding, specialist in pastoral care; Dr Keith Small, Qur’anic scholar; John Joubert, composer; Jona James, MU stalwart; Dr Lakshman Kanagasooriam, Canterbury churchman; Olive Hitchcock, former CMS missionary and organiser; Peter Hurford, former Organist of St Albans Abbey and founder of its International Organ Festival; Noel Rawsthorne, former Organist of Liverpool Cathedral.

PALady Mary Warnock at a press conference, in January 1985, at which she welcomed government moves to outlaw rent-a-womb schemes

Grayston Burgess, counter-tenor; Baroness Warnock, philosopher; Caroline Mockford, Provinical Registrar of York; Nigel Holmes, broadcaster; Michael Brown, newsman; Dr John Court, New Testa­ment scholar; Lionel Lethbridge, organist; Frances Whitehead, formerly John Stott’s secretary.

Monica Ditmas, former Warden of Catherington House; Dave Gaskill and Noel Ford, cartoonists; Joan Antcliff, former missionary in Mozambique; Pauline Morrell, cofounder of Broken Rites; Dr Louie Crew Clay, founder of Integrity; Sir Stephen Cleobury, Director of Music at King’s College, Cambridge, for 37 years; Colin Mawby KSG, composer; and Rachel Held Evans, writer.

THE deaths also occurred of Archbishop Gregorios, former Archbishop of Thyateira & Great Britain; and Fr Wilfrid McGreal O.Carm., broadcaster.

Browse Church and Charity jobs on the Church Times jobsite

The Church Times Archive

Read reports from issues stretching back to 1863, search for your parish or see if any of the clergy you know get a mention.

FREE for Church Times subscribers.

Explore the archive

Welcome to the Church Times


To explore the Church Times website fully, please sign in or subscribe.

Non-subscribers can read four articles for free each month. (You will need to register.)