*** DEBUG END ***

Review of the Year 2019: Appointments

20 December 2019

Diocese of Norwich

The Rt Revd Graham Usher. See gallery for more appointment photos

The Rt Revd Graham Usher. See gallery for more appointment photos

EPISCOPAL appointments announced during the year included those of the Rt Revd Graham Usher as Bishop of Norwich, translated from Dudley; the Rt Revd Richard Jackson as Bishop of Hereford, translated from Lewes; the Ven. Cherry Mann as Bishop of Monmouth; the Ven. Andrew Forster as Bishop of Derry & Raphoe; the Ven. David McClay as Bishop of Down & Dromore.

Prebendary Rose Hudson-Wilkin as Suffragan Bishop of Dover (Bishop in Canterbury); the Ven. Sarah Clark as Suffragan Bishop of Jarrow; Canon Deborah Sellin as Suffragan Bishop of Southampton; the Ven. Sarah Bullock as Area Bishop of Shrewsbury; the Ven. Olivia Graham as Area Bishop of Reading; the Ven. Martin Gorick as Suffragan Bishop of Dudley; Canon Sophie Jelley as Suffragan Bishop of Doncaster; the Rt Revd Mark Sowerby as Principal of the College of the Resurrection, Mirfield; the Rt Revd Chris Goldsmith as Director of the C of E’s Ministry Division; the Most Revd Ian Ernest as Director of the Anglican Centre in Rome.

AMONG clergy appointments were those of the Very Revd Dr David Hoyle as Dean of Westminster; the Revd Luke Irvine-Capel as Archdeacon of Chichester; the Revd Sally Gaze as Archdeacon for Rural Mission in St Edmundsbury & Ipswich diocese; Canon Peter Leonard as Archdeacon of the Isle of Wight; Canon Christopher Burke as Archdeacon of Barking; the Ven. Christopher Futcher as Archdeacon in Cyprus; the Revd Jennifer Tomlinson as Archdeacon of Birmingham; the Revd Ruth Pattern as Archdeacon of Colchester; the Revd Rhiannon King as Archdeacon of Ipswich; the Revd Dr Peter Groves as Assistant Archdeacon of Oxford; the Ven. Dr Bill Schwartz as Dean of St Christopher’s Cathedral, Bahrain.

Diocese of CanterburyThe Rt Revd Rose Hudson-Wilkin

Canon Eileen Davies as Archdeacon of Cardigan; the Revd Neil Warwick as Archdeacon of Bristol; Canon Andrew Beane as Archdeacon of Exeter; Prebendary Nicholas Shutt as Archdeacon of Plymouth; the Ven. Paul Bryer as Archdeacon of Cornwall; the Revd Jennifer Tomlinson as Archdeacon of Birmingham.

The Revd Philip Williams as Archdeacon of Nottingham; the Revd Martin Breadmore as Archdeacon of Dorking; the Ven. Roger Preece as Master of the Royal Foundation of St Katharine, London; the Revd Barry Dugmore as Archdeacon of Warwick (Archdeacon Missioner); the Ven. David Picken as Archdeacon of Lancaster; the Ven. Samantha Rushton as Archdeacon of York; the Ven. Dr Susan Weller as Archdeacon of Lichfield (Archdeacon Missioner); the Revd Julian Francis as Archdeacon of Walsall; the Revd Dr Rosemarie Mallett as Archdeacon of Croydon; the Revd David Waller as Archdeacon of Gibraltar, and of Italy and Malta; the Revd Stephen Pullin as Archdeacon of Berkshire; the Ven. David Sharples as Archdeacon of Rochdale; the Archdeacon of Salford (the Ven. Jean Burgess) as also Archdeacon of Bolton; the Revd Simon Fisher as Archdeacon of St Helens.

The Revd Dr Sean Doherty as Principal of Trinity College, Bristol; the Revd Dr William Adam as Director of Unity, Faith and Order for the Anglican Communion; Canon Flora Winfield as the Archbishop of Canterbury’s Adviser for Reconciliation.

LAY appointments included those of Sister Jocelyn OHP as Prioress of the Sisters of the Order of the Holy Paraclete; Mother Mary Joy SSB as Reverend Mother of the Society of the Sisters of Bethany; Alastair Bateman as Chief Executive of CMS; Dr Paula Gooder as Chancellor of St Paul’s Cathedral; Jayne Ozanne to the government LGBT health panel; Carrie Myers as Co-ordinator for Lay Ministry; Mark Russell as CEO of the Children’s Society; Marion Carson as Director of Operations for the Churches Conservation Trust.

Dorian Davies as Safeguarding Officer for the Church in Wales; Gavin Calver as Chief Executive of the Evangelical Alliance; Colin Bloom as Faith Engagement Adviser at the Ministry of Housing, Communities, and Local Government; Gareth Mostyn as Secretary and Chief Executive of the Church Commissioners; Francesca Massey as Director of Music and Organist of Rochester Cathedral.

Browse Church and Charity jobs on the Church Times jobsite

The Church Times Archive

Read reports from issues stretching back to 1863, search for your parish or see if any of the clergy you know get a mention.

FREE for Church Times subscribers.

Explore the archive

Welcome to the Church Times


To explore the Church Times website fully, please sign in or subscribe.

Non-subscribers can read four articles for free each month. (You will need to register.)