01 November 2019

Berkshire archdeacon

THE new Acting Archdeacon of Berkshire, in Oxford diocese, is the Revd Stephen Pullin, Vicar of Reading Minster since 2015, Assistant Archdeacon of Berkshire since 2017, and an Hon. Canon of Christ Church, Oxford.

The Revd Richard Lamey, Rector of St Paul’s Wokingham, since 2012, and Area Dean of Sonning, since 2018, is the new Acting Assistant Archdeacon.

The former Archdeacon, the Ven. Olivia Graham, will be consecrated bishop on 19 November, to the see of Reading (News, 19 July).


ASHTON. The Revd Christopher Ashton, NS Assistant Curate of Burford with Fulbrook, Taynton, Asthall, Swinbrook and Widford, now Assistant Curate in the Vale Benefice (Oxford).

ASTON. The Revd Heather Aston, Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) of St Gennys, and of Jacobstow with Warbstow and Treneglos, to be Priest-in-Charge of St Gennys and Jacobstow with Warbstow and Treneglos Conventional District, remaining Priest-in-Charge of the Boscastle and Tintagel Group (Truro).

BAILEY. The Revd Angela Bailey, Canon and Prebendary of York Minster, and Diocesan Adviser for Lay Development, now also part-time Diocesan Training Adviser (York).

BOYCE. The Revd Susan Boyce, Assistant Curate (Interim Minister) of St Anne’s, Willenhall, and of St Giles’s, Willenhall, to be Priest-in-Charge of both, and Assistant Curate (Associate Minister) of St Stephen’s, Willenhall (Lichfield).

BROWN. The Revd Terry Brown, NS Assistant Curate in the Canvey Island Team Ministry (Chelmsford), to be NS Associate Priest.

CADE. The Revd Simon Cade, Diocesan Director of Education and Discipleship, to be also Hon. Canon of Truro Cathedral (Truro).

CHAPMAN. The Revd Lesley Chapman, formerly Priest-in-Charge of Riding Mill, and Area Dean of Corbridge, to be part-time Bishop’s Adviser in Spirituality (Newcastle).

DAVY. The Revd Martin Davy, Assistant Curate in the Morden Team Ministry (Southwark), now Rector of Holy Trinity, Theale (Oxford).

DUNTHORNE. The Revd Paul Dunthorne, Dean of Licensed Ministry Training (Winchester), to be Principal of Initial Ministerial Education (Phase One) (Carlisle).

FANCOURT. The Revd Dr Graeme Fancourt, Vicar of St Luke and St Bartholomew, Reading, now Assistant Curate (Associate Minister) of St Mary the Virgin, Reading, remaining Area Dean of Reading (Oxford).

FORSDIKE. The Revd Alan Forsdike, Priest-in-Charge of Westerfield and Tuddenham with Witnesham, now Chaplain to the Inspiring Ipswich project (St Edmundsbury & Ipswich).

FORSDIKE. The Revd Catherine Forsdike, NSM of Westerfield and Tuddenham with Witnesham, now Chaplain to the Inspiring Ipswich project (St Edmundsbury & Ipswich).

HODSON. The Revd Margot Hodson, Rector of the Wychert Vale Benefice, now Assistant Curate (Associate Minister) of the Shill Valley and Broadshire Benefice (Oxford), and Director of Theology and Education for The John Ray Initiative.

HOLDEN. The Revd Tony Holden, NS Assistant Curate of Langley Park, of Esh and Hamsteels, and of Waterhouses, now NS Assistant Curate (Associate Minister) of Lumley, of East Rainton and of West Rainton (Durham).

JAMES. The Rt Revd Graham James, formerly Bishop of Norwich (Norwich), to be Hon. Assistant Bishop (Truro), remaining Hon. Canon of St Matthew’s Cathedral, Dallas (Dallas, ECUSA).

LAKEY. The Revd Dr Michael Lakey, NS Assistant Curate (Associate Minister) in the Dorchester Team Ministry, now Vicar of Chalgrove with Berrick Salome (Oxford).

McQUILLEN. The Revd Brian McQuillen, formerly Rector of St Martin with Looe (Truro), to be Interim Priest-in-Charge of St Goran with Caerhays (Truro).

MILLER. The Revd Alison Miller, formerly NS Assistant Curate of Lanchester and Burnhope, now NS Assistant Curate of Tanfield with Burnopfield and Dipton (Durham).

MILLER. The Revd Dr David Miller, Team Rector in the Helston and Wendron Team Ministry, Rural Dean of Kerrier, and Hon. Canon of Truro Cathedral, now also Priest-in-Charge of the West Kerrier Benefice (Truro).

RAMSEY. The Revd Christopher Ramsey, Vicar of Great Cornard, to be also Assistant Curate (Assistant Priest) of All Saints’, Sudbury, with Ballingdon and Brundon (St Edmundsbury & Ipswich).

SIMPSON. The Revd Elizabeth Simpson, Rector of the West Buckingham Benefice, now Vicar of Adderbury with Milton (Oxford).

STEWART-SYKES. The Revd Teresa Stewart-Sykes, NS Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) in the Dorchester and Winterbournes Team Ministry (Salisbury), now Team Vicar in the Dorchester Team Ministry (Oxford).

SWIFT. The Revd Andrew Swift, Assistant Curate (Interim Minister) of Smallthorne, to be Priest-in-Charge of Smallthorne and of Burslem, remaining Catholic Mission Partner for Stoke-on-Trent Deanery (Lichfield).

TWEEDY. The Revd Andrew Tweedy, Rector of the Lower Windrush Benefice, now Team Rector in the Brize Norton and Carterton Team Ministry (Oxford).

TYSON. The Revd Jacqueline Tyson, NS Assistant Curate of Sunderland Minster (Durham), now NS Associate Minister.

VALLENTE-KERR. The Revd Susan Vallente-Kerr, Assistant Curate of St Nicholas with St Mary, Strood, and of St Francis’s, Strood (Rochester), to be Vicar of St Chad’s, Skerton, and of St Luke’s, Skerton (Blackburn).

WARNER. The Revd Penelope Warner, Vicar of Newchurch, to be part-time Vicar of St George’s, Stalybridge (Manchester).

WHITING. The Revd Stephen Whiting, Priest-in-Charge of the Forest of Galtres Benefice, Assistant Curate of Coxwold and Husthwaite, of Crayke with Brandsby and Yearsley, of Brafferton with Pilmoor, Myton-on-Swale and Thormanby, of Alne, of Easingwold with Raskelf, of Skelton with Shipton and Newton on Ouse, and of Strensall, to be also Rural Dean of Easingwold (York).

WILCOCKSON. The Revd Michael Wilcockson, NS Assistant Curate of Eton with Eton Wick, Boveney and Dorney, and Assistant Chaplain of Eton College (Oxford), now Assistant Curate in the Linton Team Ministry (Ely).

WILLIAMS. The Revd Dr Jennifer Williams, NS Assistant Curate (Associate Minister) of Wootton, now Vicar of St Matthew’s, Oxford (Oxford).

WILLIAMS. The Revd Jonathan Williams, Vicar of Wootton, now Hon. Assistant Curate (Associate Minister) of St Matthew’s, Oxford (Oxford).



BAIN. The Revd Andrew Bain, Priest-in-Charge of St Salvador’s, Edinburgh, and Chaplain of Emmaus House, to be also Priest-in-Charge of St David of Scotland, Pilton, Edinburgh (Edinburgh).

BREWER-LENNON. The Revd Oliver Brewer-Lennon, Assistant Curate of St Ninian’s, Edinburgh, now Vice-Provost of St Mary’s Cathedral, Glasgow (Glasgow & Galloway).

JONES. The Revd Christopher Jones, Rector of Newchurch with Croft (Liverpool), to be Priest-in-Charge of St Mary and All Souls, Coldstream (Edinburgh).

McLUCKIE. The Revd John McLuckie, Vice-Provost of St Mary’s Cathedral, Edinburgh, now Hon. Canon, and Rector of Old St Paul’s, Edinburgh (Edinburgh).



LEECH. Elizabeth Leech to be Resident Lay Minister in Edgmond and Shifnal deanery, and Chaplain and Researcher of Harper Adams University (Lichfield).



(Admitted and licensed)

Diocese of Truro (by the Bishop in his cathedral, on 12 October): Martin Adams, Lesley Boyden, Kim Dooley, Henry Gompertz, Deborah Harris, Elizabeth Lane, Robin West, James Wonnacott.

The Church Times Archive

Read reports from issues stretching back to 1863, search for your parish or see if any of the clergy you know get a mention.

FREE for Church Times subscribers.

Explore the archive

Church Times: about us

Welcome to the Church Times

​To explore the Church Times website fully, please sign in or subscribe.

Non-subscribers can read five articles for free each month. (You will need to register.)