*** DEBUG END ***

RSCM awards ceremony

21 September 2018


New Associates of the RSCM, front row left to right, Sarah MacDonald, the new Director of the RSCM, Hugh Morris; Peter Parshall; back row left to right, Professor Andrew Morrison, Dr John Rowntree, Cathy Lamb, Jonathan Langehoven, Neil Shroff. Timothy Harrison and Paul Edwards were unable to attend

New Associates of the RSCM, front row left to right, Sarah MacDonald, the new Director of the RSCM, Hugh Morris; Peter Parshall; back row left to righ...

IN SALISBURY CATHEDRAL, the Bishop of Salisbury presented the following awards from the Royal School of Church Music Council, on 8 September:

Hon. Fellowship of the RSCM: Dr Dale Adelmann (Scholar of 19th-century English church music, and Canon Musician at St Philip’s Cathedral, Atlanta); Lord Gill (Chairman of RSCM Council 2010-18, former Organist and Choirmaster of St Columba’s RC Church, Edinburgh, former Governor and Chairman of the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama); Dr Michael Nicholas (former Organist and Master of the Choristers of Norwich Cathedral, former Chief Executive of the Royal College of Organists, academic contributor to the Guild of Church Musicians); Canon Stephen Shipley (broadcaster and liturgist); Stuart Townend (song- and hymn-writer, composer, and performer); Professor Peter Toyne (former Vice-Chancellor of John Moores University, former member of the Archbishops’ Council, and former Chairman of the Friends of Cathedral Music); John Wardle (RSCM Regional Director and Music Advisor for the south, Director of the RSCM Cathedral Singers, RSCM Area Committees); Judith Weir (Master of the Queen’s Music).

Hon. Associateship of the RSCM: Paul Edwards (singer, organist, choir director, editor, and composer); Timothy Harrison (Cathedral and Diocesan Director of Music of the RC Cathedral in Middlesbrough); Cathy Lamb (Director of Music Outreach of Lichfield Cathedral, RSCM Lichfield Area Committee); Jonathan Langenhoven (Assistant Conductor of St George’s Cathedral, Cape Town); Sarah MacDonald (Director of Music of Selwyn College, Cambridge, and of the Ely Cathedral Girls’ Choir); Professor Andrew Morrison (Organist and Director of Music of St Andrew’s Episcopal Cathedral, Aberdeen); Peter Parshall (organ teacher, choir director, and Artistic Director of the South Wessex Organ Society, former RSCM Coordinator in Ireland, Director of RSCM Voices West and accompanist to the RSCM Southern Cathedral Singers); Dr John Rowntree (Director of Music and Organist of Douai Abbey, Organs Advisory Committee, Church Buildings Council); Neil Shroff (Chairman of the RSCM New Zealand Auckland branch).

Hon. Membership of the RSCM: Neil Collier (Priory Records); Glenn Miller (Music Manager of the King’s College Course in Pennsylvania, RSCM America, and church musician); Andrew Moyes (Managing Director of Nicholson and Company).

Certificate of Special Service: Julian Bonia (Director of Music of St Cuthbert’s, Norham, Northumberland); Gary Correll (Treasurer of RSCM America); Philip Davey (Director of Music of Truro Methodist Church, RSCM Cornwall’s Education and Training Officer); Professor Tony Davies (former RSCM Swansea and Brecon Area Secretary and Treasurer); John Dixon (Choirmaster of St Vincent’s, Praia da Luz, Portugal for 23 years); Hilary Forrest (church musician in Christchurch, Dorset, and RSCM support group coordinator); Liz Hill (RSCM Lincoln Area Committee); Jody James (Director of Music of St Peter Mancroft Norwich); Graham Jones (Director of Music of St Peter’s, Formby, for 38 years, RSCM Liverpool and Isle of Man Area Committee); George Kent (Organist and Choirmaster of Christ Church, Westerly, Rhode Island, since 1956); Jerry King (church organist, chairman of the Bath and Wells Diocesan Choral Association, RSCM Somerset and Bristol and Swindon committees); Steve Maltby (St Hilda’s, Whitby, RSCM North and East Yorkshire Area Committee; RSCM examiner and tutor); Sue Moore (Church of England’s Liturgical Commission, Director of Music of All Saints’, Belvedere, Kent, RSCM Rochester Area Committee); Christopher Muhley (RSCM St Albans, Hertford and Bedford Area Committee, former Director of Music of Haberdashers’ Aske’s Boys’ School, Chairman of the St Albans Cathedral Music Trust); Dr Keith Murree-Allen (Christ Church Cathedral, Newcastle, New South Wales); Michael Palmer (chorister for more than 65 years at St Alphege’s, Soilhull).

The Church Times Archive

Read reports from issues stretching back to 1863, search for your parish or see if any of the clergy you know get a mention.

FREE for Church Times subscribers.

Explore the archive

Church Times: about us

Welcome to the Church Times

​To explore the Church Times website fully, please sign in or subscribe.

Non-subscribers can read four articles for free each month. (You will need to register.)