*** DEBUG END ***

Review of 2018: appointments

21 December 2018

Diocese of Bristol

The Rt Revd Vivienne Faull, Bishop of Bristol. See gallery for more images of appointments this year

The Rt Revd Vivienne Faull, Bishop of Bristol. See gallery for more images of appointments this year

THE Bishop of Tanga (the Rt Revd Maimbo Mndolwa) was elected Archbishop and Primate of Tanzania in 2018.

The Vicar of St Peter’s, Lautoka, on the island of Viti Levu (the Revd Fereimi Cama), was elected Bishop of Polynesia, to be one of the Province’s three Archbishops.

Other episcopal appointments reported in the Church Times included those of the Very Revd Vivienne Faull as Bishop of Bristol; Canon Philip Mounstephen as Bishop of Truro; the Rt Revd Libby Lane as Bishop of Derby, translated from Stockport.

Diocese of TruroThe Rt Revd Philip Mounstephen, Bishop of Truro

The Revd Dr Jill Duff as Suffragan Bishop of Lancaster; the Ven. Dr John Perumbalath as Area Bishop of Bradwell; the Ven. Simon Burton-Jones as Suffragan Bishop of Tonbridge; the Revd Dr Emma Ineson as Suffragan Bishop of Penrith; the Ven. Jackie Searle as Suffragan Bishop of Crediton; the Ven. Beverley Mason as Suffragan Bishop of Warrington; the Revd Dr Andrew Rumsey as Suffragan Bishop of Ramsbury.


AMONG clergy appointments recorded during the year were those of Canon Sue Jones as Dean of Liverpool; the Revd Paul Mackness as Archdeacon of St Davids; the Revd Robert Cooper as Archdeacon of Sunderland; the Revd Ian Bentley as Archdeacon of Lynn.

Canon Nicholas Papadopulos as Dean of Salisbury; the Revd Margaret Campbell as Provost of St John the Divine Cathedral, Oban; Canon Michael Komor as Archdeacon of Margam; Canon Derek Chedzey as Archdeacon of Hereford; the Revd Suzanne Pinnington as the first Archdeacon of the Gwent Valleys; Canon Simon Colwing as Dean of Wakefield.

Canon Barry Wilson as Arch­deacon of Montgomery; the Revd Andrew Grimwood as Archdeacon of St Asaph; the Ven. John Lomas as Archdeacon of Wrexham; the Ven. Geoffrey Miller as Dean of Newcastle; Canon Richard Worsfold as Archdeacon of Leicester.

The Revd Penelope Sayer as Archdeacon of Sherborne; the Revd Andrew Wooding Jones as Archdeacon of Rochester; the Revd Martyn Gough as Chaplain of the Fleet and Archdeacon for the Royal Navy; Canon Jonathan Gough as Archdeacon of Richmond and Craven; the Revd Hilary Dawson as Archdeacon of Gloucester.

Diocese of LiverpoolThe Rt Revd Beverley Mason, Bishop of Warrington

Canon Anthony Cane as Dean of Portsmouth; Canon David Middlebrook as Archdeacon of Bedford; the Rt Revd Jonathan Frost as Dean of York; the Revd Christopher Bryan as Archdeacon of Malmesbury; the Revd Mark Wroe as Archdeacon of Northumberland.

The Revd Dr Richard Sudworth as Secretary for Inter-religious Affairs to the Archbishop of Canterbury, and National Inter-religious Affairs Adviser for the Church of England; Dean of Westminster as Chair of Council of the Royal School of Church Music; the Revd Dr Mark Betson as National Rural Officer for the Church of England; and Canon Simon Butler as Senior Treasurer and Chair of the Sons and Friends of the Clergy.


LAY appointments included those of John Neilson as Chairman of USPG; Dr Eve Poole as the Third Church Estates Commissioner; Helen England as Chief Executive of Livability; Hugh Morris as Director of the Royal School of Church Music; Andrew Barnett as Chairman of the Church Urban Fund; Tansy Castledine as Director of Music of Peterborough Cathedral; David Hardie as Head of Music of Birmingham Cathedral; Daniel Hyde as Director of Music at King’s College, Cambridge.

Ruth Haldane as National Reader Training Project Manager for the Central Readers’ Council; Sheran Harper as Worldwide President of the Mothers’ Union; David Pain as Salisbury Diocesan Secretary; Edmund Aldhouse as Director of Music of Ely Cathedral; Samuel Hudson as Organist and Director of Music of Worcester Cathedral; Alexander Binns as Director of Music of Derby Cathedral; Matthew Chinnery as Head of Legal Services of the Church in Wales.

Sam Monaghan was appointed Chief Executive of Methodist Homes for the Aged.

Forthcoming Events

26 January 2022
Book launch: Entering the Twofold Mystery
Author Erik Varden in conversation with Sarah Coakley.

1 February 2022
Cathedrals and social justice
Book free tickets for this Church Times webinar with Mark Russell, Anne Richards and Adrian Dorber.

More events

Welcome to the Church Times

​To explore the Church Times website fully, please sign in or subscribe.

Non-subscribers can read four* articles for free each month. (You will need to register.)