*** DEBUG END ***
Important information: We are currently experiencing technical issues with the webiste and it is currently running with reduced functionality, some category pages may not contain a full list of articles and the search is not currently working. We apologise for the inconvenience and should have everything back to normal as soon as possible.


15 December 2017

New archdeacons

THE new Archdeacon of Carmarthen, in St Davids diocese, since November, in succession to the Ven. Roger Hughes, is the Ven. Dorrien Davies, who had been Team Vicar in the Rectorial Benefice of Dewisland, since 2010, and Canon Residentiary of St Davids Cathedral, since 2007. He will also become Priest-in-Charge of St Clears with Llangynin and Llandowror and Llanfihangel Abercywyn, in that diocese, in January.

The next Archdeacon of Bolton, in Manchester diocese, is to be the Revd Jean Burgess, Assistant Archdeacon of Derby, in Derby diocese, since 2017, Priest-in-Charge of St Alkmund and St Werburgh, Derby, since 2013, and Dean of Women’s Ministry since 2015, and Hon. Canon of Derby Cathedral since 2016.


Priory of St Anselm

THE next Prior of St Anselm at Lambeth Palace is to be the Revd Dr Rosalyn Murphy, Vicar of St Thomas’s, Blackpool, in Blackburn diocese, since 2012, and before that Priest-in-Charge there since 2008.


APPLEBY. The Revd Jennie Appleby, Team Vicar in the Plymstock and Hooe Team Ministry, now Team Rector, remaining also Assistant Rural Dean of Plymouth City (Exeter).

ARMSTRONG. The Revd John Armstrong, Assistant Curate (Associate Minister) of St John’s, Kenilworth (Coventry), now house-for-duty Interim Associate Minister.

BENSKIN. The Revd David Benskin, Assistant Curate (Associate Minister) of the Heart of England Benefice, now house-for-duty Priest-in-Charge of Aston Cantlow and Wilmcote with Billesley, remaining Chaplain of Rainsbrook Secure Training Centre (Coventry).

BYROM. The Revd Catherine Byrom, Assistant Curate (Associate Vicar) of Skegby with Teversal, to be Vicar of Ravenshead and of St Mary’s, Newstead Abbey (Southwell & Nottingham).

BURN. The Revd Dr Geoffrey Burn, Chaplain of HM Young Offenders Institution Rochester (Rochester), now Managing Chaplain of HM Prison Maidstone (Canterbury).

BURTON. The Revd Zoe Burton, Priest-in-Charge of Ollerton with Boughton, to be also Priest-in-Charge of Kneesall with Laxton and Wellow, of Egmanton, of Kirton, of Walesby, of Bilsthorpe, and of Eakring (Southwell & Nottingham).

CARTER. The Revd Wendy Carter, formerly NS Assistant Curate (Assistant Priest) in the Salter Street and Shirley Team Ministry (Birmingham), to be Priest-in-Charge of High Wych and Gilston with Eastwick (St Albans).

COLLINS. The Revd Ann Collins, Assistant Curate of Wilford, to be Vicar of St Ann with Emmanuel, Nottingham (Southwell & Nottingham).

FIRTH. The Revd Matthew Firth, Chaplain of the Carlisle Campuses of the University of Cumbria, and Pioneer Minister for the 18-30 age group (Carlisle), to be Priest-in-Charge of St Cuthbert and of Holy Trinity, Darlington (Durham).

FLETCHER. The Revd Martin Fletcher, Vicar of St Peter’s, Hersham (Guildford), to be Rector of Richmond with Hudswell and Downholme and Marske (Leeds).

HILLS. The Revd James Hills, Assistant Curate of Kea (Truro), to be Vicar of Holy Trinity, Wallington (Southwark).

KIRKPATRICK. The Revd Reginald Kirkpatrick, OLM of Ditchingham, Hedenham, Broome, Earsham, Alburgh and Denton, to be also Chaplain of All Hallows’ Hospital, Ditchingham (Norwich).

JESSON. The Revd Oswald Jesson, Chaplain of HM Young Offenders’ Institution, Doncaster (Sheffield), now Chaplain of HM Prison Altcourse (Liverpool).

SALA. The Revd Meymans Sala, Assistant Curate (Interim Priest) of St Michael-at-Bowes in the Wood Green with Bounds Green Team Ministry (London), to be Chaplain of Mid Essex Hospital Services NHS Trust (Chelmsford).

SCRIVEN. The Revd Hugh Scriven, Vicar of St Germain’s, Edgbaston (Birmingham), to be Priest-in-Charge of St John’s, Accrington, with St Augustine’s, Huncoat (Blackburn).

SCHNYDER. The Revd Cécile Schnyder, Assistant Curate in the Sutton Team Ministry, to be Chaplain of James Allen’s Girls’ School, and Priest-in-Charge of St Clement with St Peter, Dulwich (Southwark).

SEYMOUR. The Revd David Seymour, Vicar of Sturminster Newton, Hinton St Mary and Lydlinch, Assistant Curate of Hazelbury Bryan and the Hillside Parishes and of Oxeford, Priest-in-Charge of Marnhull, and Hon. Canon of Salisbury Cathedral (Salisbury), to be Priest-in-Charge of Blisland with Temple, St Breward and Helland, and of St Tudy with St Mabyn and Michaelstow (Truro).

STEPHENS. The Revd Rebecca Stephens, Rector of the Whitacres, Lea Marston, and Shustoke, now also Bishop’s Adviser for Women’s Ministry (Birmingham).

TAYLOR. The Revd James Taylor, Assistant Curate (Associate Minister) of Idle (Leeds), to be Vicar.

THORNTON. The Rt Revd Timothy Thornton, Bishop at Lambeth (Canterbury), Bishop to the Forces, and Hon. Assistant Bishop (Portsmouth and London), to be also Assistant Bishop (Southwark).

THORP. The Revd Stephen Thorp, Rector of Necton, Holme Hale, with North and South Pickenham, to be also Rural Dean of Breckland (Norwich).

TOBIN. The Revd Rebecca Tobin, Assistant Curate of the Boldons (Durham), to be Chaplain of HM Prison and Young Offenders’ Institution Stoke Heath (Lichfield).

WARD-SMITH. The Revd Richard Ward-Smith, formerly NSM of Kilkhampton with Morwenstow, to be Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) of Kilkhampton with Morwenstow, and of the North Kernoe Benefice (Truro).

WHITELEY. The Revd Dr Raewynne Whiteley, Rector of St James’s, New York (New York, ECUSA), and Canon Theologian (Long Island, ECUSA), to be Diocesan Discipleship and Vocations Missioner (Southwark).



BARNETT. The Revd Susan Barnett, NSM of Letterston with Llanfair Nant-Y-Gof and Puncheston with Little Newcastle and Castle Bythe (St Davids), now house-for-duty.

JONES. The Revd Dr Caroline Jones, NS Assistant Curate of Llanegwad with Llanfihangel Uwch Gwili, to be NS Assistant Curate of St Clears with Llangynin and Llandowror and Llanfihangel Abercywyn (St Davids).

JONES. The Revd Sian Jones, Canon of St Davids Cathedral, to be Canon Treasurer, remaining Priest-in-Charge of Catheiniog, Area Dean of Llandeilo, and Acting Area Dean of Llandovery (St Davids).

RICHARDSON. The Revd Leigh Richardson, Priest-in-Charge of St Peter with St John the Evangelist, Carmarthen, and Abergwili and Capel y Groes, Canon of St Davids Cathedral, and Diocesan Warden of Ordinands, to be Canon Residentiary and Sub-Dean of the Cathedral (St Davids).

The Church Times Archive

Read reports from issues stretching back to 1863, search for your parish or see if any of the clergy you know get a mention.

FREE for Church Times subscribers.

Explore the archive

Church Times: about us

Welcome to the Church Times

​To explore the Church Times website fully, please sign in or subscribe.

Non-subscribers can read four articles for free each month. (You will need to register.)