*** DEBUG END ***


21 October 2016

Central Readers’ Council

THE next Chair of the Central Readers’ Council, from 11 November, is to be the Rt Revd Martyn Snow, Bishop of Leicester. He succeeds the Rt Revd Robert Paterson, Bishop of Sodor & Man.


New archdeacon

THE next Archdeacon of Leeds, in that diocese, will be the Revd Paul Ayers, Vicar of St Law­rence and St Paul, Pudsey, in Bradford and Leeds dioceses, since 1997, and Hon. Canon of Bradford Cathedral since 2016.


ALLEN. The Revd Christopher Allen, NSM of Ribbesford with Bewdley and Dowles and Wribbenhall (Worcester), to be Rector.

ANDREWS. The Revd Stephen Andrews, OLM Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) in the Great Yarmouth Team Ministry, and Workplace Chaplain of Good Work (Norfolk and Waveney Industrial Mission) Ltd., to be also Chaplain of James Paget University Hospital (Norwich).

ARNOLD. The Revd Jane Arnold, NSM of Kingswinford (Worcester), now Associate Priest.

ASHTON. The Revd Janet Ashton, Team Vicar in the Kidderminster Ismere Team Ministry (Worcester), to be Vicar of Hightown (Liverpool).

BAKKER. The Revd Jane Bakker, Assistant Curate of Sholing, to be Assistant Curate of Maybush and St Jude, Southampton, remaining Area Dean of Southampton (Winchester).

BELL. The Revd Jacqueline Bell, Assistant Curate of St Wulfram’s, Grantham, and of St John’s, Manthorpe, Grantham, to be Vicar of Bracebridge Heath (Lincoln).

CANESSA. The Revd Jonathan Canessa, Assistant Curate of St Paul’s, Cambridge, now Associate Priest, and Bishop’s Officer for Homelessness (Ely).

COLE. The Revd William Cole, formerly Priest-in-Charge of St Ruan with St Grade and Landewednack (Truro), to be house-for-duty Priest in the Combe Martin and Berrynarbor Team Ministry (Exeter).

COOPER. The Revd Gavin Cooper, formerly Priest-in-Charge of St Mary and St Martin, Stamford (Lincoln), now Rector.

EVANS. The Revd Glyn Evans, Priest-in-Charge of St Andrew and St Luke, Newcastle, City Centre Chaplain, Chaplain of Northumbria Police, and of NUFC Academy, and Hon. Canon of Newcastle Cathedral, to be also Chaplain among Deaf People (Newcastle).

FISH. The Revd Thomas Fish, Assistant Curate of the Lye and Stambermill (Worcester), now Associate Priest Missioner.

FLOOD. The Revd Jean Flood, NSM in the Fazakerley Team Ministry, now Team Vicar in the Walton-on-the-Hill Team Ministry, with special responsibility for St Aidan’s (Liverpool).

GEARY. The Revd John Geary, house-for-duty Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) of Bagillt and of Flint (St Asaph), to be house-for-duty Priest-in-Charge of Middlestown (Leeds).

HILL. The Revd Susan Hill, formerly NS Team Vicar of St Mark’s, in the Southend Team Ministry (Chelmsford), to be Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) of St Peter and St Paul and All Saints, Chingford (Chelmsford)

HUPFIELD. The Revd Hannah Hupfield, formerly Assistant Curate of the Saxilby Group (Lincoln), now Assistant Chaplain of Selwyn College (Cambridge).

JACKSON. The Revd Paul Jackson, formerly Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) of Haxby and Wigginton, to be Vicar of Middle Esk Moor (York).

LOMAX. The Revd Eric Lomax, Priest-in-Charge of the Colsterworth Group (Lincoln), to be Vicar of All Saints’, Kempston, and of Biddenham (St Albans).

NAWROCKYI. The Revd Nicholas Nawrockyi, formerly Assistant Curate in the Great Grimsby Team Ministry, now Interim Minister of St Francis’s Conventional District, Cleethorpes (Lincoln).

NEAUM. The Revd David Neaum, Chaplain and Fellow of St Catharine’s College, Cambridge (Ely), now Dean.

PARKER. The Revd Stephen Parker, Assistant Curate of Worksop Priory (Southwell & Nottingham), to be Vicar of St John the Baptist, South Leamington (Coventry) (diocesan correction).

PEMBERTON. The Revd Chris Pemberton, Training Director of New Wine, to be Tutor of Ridley Hall, Cambridge (Ely).

PHIPPS. The Revd Mathew Phipps, Assistant Curate of St George’s, Madrid (Europe), now Chaplain to the Bishop of Winchester (Winchester).

PORTER. The Revd Linda Porter, Assistant Curate of Tendring and Little Bentley with Beaufort Cum Moze, to be Assistant Curate in the Harwich Peninsula Team Ministry (Chelmsford).

ROBERTSON. The Revd Iain Robertson, Rector of Heanton Punchardon, Marwood and West Down, to be Priest-in-Charge of the Holy Spirit, Southway (Exeter).

SAMS. The Revd Jacqueline Sams, formerly Hon. Assistant Curate of Christ Church with St Mary at the Walls, Colchester, to be Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) of Berechurch (Chelmsford).

SELLERS. The Revd Dr Anthony Sellers, Vicar of St Paul’s, Luton, Assistant Area Dean of Luton, and Hon. Canon of St Albans Cathedral (St Albans), to be Canon Emeritus.

SMITH. The Revd Carol Smith, Vicar of St Luke’s, Moulsham, Priest-in-Charge of St John the Evangelist, Moulsham, Assistant Curate of Widford and of Galleywood Common, and Hon. Canon of Chelmsford Cathedral (Chelmsford), to be Vicar of Herne (Canterbury).

STOCKING. The Revd Clifford Stocking, Team Vicar in the March Team Ministry (Ely), to be Vicar of Holy Trinity, Margate (Canterbury).

THOMAS. The Rt Revd Roderick Thomas, Suffragan Bishop of Maidstone (Canterbury), and Hon. Assistant Bishop (Chelmsford, Chester, Sheffield and Southwark), to be also Hon. Assistant Bishop (Ely).

WEBSTER. The Revd Dr James Webster, Assistant Curate of Broxbourne with Wormley, to be Vicar of Langleybury, and Diocesan Initial Ministerial Education Phase 2 Officer (St Albans).

WILLIAMSON. The Revd Robert Williamson, Vicar of St Cuthbert’s, Darlington (Durham), to be Vicar of the Thorntons and the Otteringtons, and Chaplain of the North Yorkshire Police (York).



BUNTING. The Revd Rachel Bunting (née Simpson), formerly Assistant Curate in the Llantwit Major Rectorial Benefice (Llandaff), now Bishop’s Officer for Family Ministry in Afon Tawe deanery (Swansea & Brecon).



The following now Hon. Chaplains: the Revd Andrew Chapman, the Revd Robert Daborn, the Revd Philip Edell, the Revd Leslie Jesudason, the Revd Brenda Stober, the Revd Craig Smith.



(admitted and licensed)

Diocese of Bath & Wells (by the Bishop in his Cathedral on 1 October): Rachel Clarke, Matthew Dawkins, Mary Duncan, Louise Jarmain, Caroline Mason, Jane Rees, Caroline Riall.

Diocese of Southwell & Nottingham (by the Bishop in his Cathedral on 8 October): Janice Hannington, Jonathon Hicks, Nick West.



MAUDE. Trish Maude now Lay Chaplain of Homerton College.

The Church Times Archive

Read reports from issues stretching back to 1863, search for your parish or see if any of the clergy you know get a mention.

FREE for Church Times subscribers.

Explore the archive

Welcome to the Church Times

​To explore the Church Times website fully, please sign in or subscribe.

Non-subscribers can read four articles for free each month. (You will need to register.)