*** DEBUG END ***

Review of the year 2015: appointments

01 January 2016


The Most Revd Michael Curry

The Most Revd Michael Curry

A NEW Presiding Bishop for the Episcopal Church in the United States was elected during the year. He is the Most Revd Michael Curry, who was the Bishop of North Carolina.

Other episcopal appointments included those of the Rt Revd Paul Williams as Bishop of Southwell & Nottingham, translated from Kensington; the Ven. Rachel Treweek as Bishop of Gloucester, the Ven. Christine Hardman as Bishop of Newcastle; the Ven. Dr Richard Condie as Bishop of Tasmania; the Rt Revd Martyn Snow as Bishop of Leicester, translated from Tewkesbury.

Canon Michael Beasley as Bishop of Hertford; Canon Alison White as Bishop of Hull; the Rt Revd James Bell as Bishop of Ripon, translated from Knaresborough; and the Rt Revd Anthony Robinson as Bishop of Wakefield, translated from Pontefract; Prebendary Rod Thomas as Bishop of Maidstone; the Revd Dame Sarah Mullally as Bishop of Crediton; the Ven. Paul Slater as Bishop of Richmond; the Ven. Ruth Worsley as Bishop of Taunton.

The Revd Anne Hollinghurst as Bishop of Aston; the Revd Graham Tomlin as Bishop of Kensington; the Revd Robert Wickham as Bishop of Edmonton; the Revd Richard Thorpe as Bishop of Islington; the Revd Dr Nicholas Chamberlain as Bishop of Grantham; the Ven. Karen Gorhan as Bishop of Sherborne; the Revd Dr Michael Harrison as Bishop of Dunwich.

The Rt Revd Lord Williams of Oystermouth as President of the Church Army; Dr Graham Kings as Mission Theologian of the Anglican Communion, and Dr Josiah Idowu-Fearon as its General Secretary; the Bishop of Birmingham as Convener of the Lords Spiritual; the Bishop of Croydon as Acting Archdeacon of Reigate.


CLERICAL appointments noted in the Church Times included those of the Revd Dr Mark Butchers as Archdeacon of Barnstaple; the Revd Douglas Dettmer as Archdeacon of Totnes; the Revd Dr Susan Weller as Archdeacon of Walsall; the Revd Mark Poulson as Archbishops’ Secretary for Inter-religious Affairs; Canon Philip Hesketh as Acting Dean of Rochester.

The Revd Anders Litzell as Prior of the Community of St Anselm at Lambeth; the Revd Andrew Forster as Archdeacon of Adboe; the Revd Dominic Barrington as Dean of St James’s Cathedral, Chicago; the Revd Samantha Rushton as Archdeacon of Cleveland; the Revd Professor Alister McGrath as Professor of Divinity of Gresham College; Canon Chris Chivers as Principal of Westcott House, Cambridge; the Revd Andrew Cunnington as Acting Archdeacon of Reigate; Canon James Woodward as Principal of Sarum College; the Revd Nigel Crossey as Dean of Kilmore.

Prebendary Colin Williams as Archdeacon of Europe; Canon Ian McIntosh as Head of Formation of the Ministry Division of the Archbishops’ Council; the Revd Antony Macrow-Wood as Archdeacon of Dorset; the Ven. Luke Miller as Archdeacon of London; the Revd Elizabeth Adekunle as Archdeacon of Hackney; the Revd Simon Cowling as Interim Acting Archdeacon of Richmond and Craven, and later Canon Beverley Mason as Archdeacon; the Revd Alistair Helm as Interim Acting Archdeacon of Bradford, and later Canon Andrew Jolley as Archdeacon; Canon John Kiddle as Archdeacon of Wandsworth; the Ven. Stephen Waine as Dean of Chichester; Canon Peter Spiers as Archdeacon-designate of Knowsley and Sefton; the Revd Roger Preece as Archdeacon-designate of St Helens and Warrington.

The Ven. Timothy Barker as Dean of Guernsey; Canon Robert Gray as Archdeacon of Ferns; Canon Richard Brand as Archdeacon of Winchester; Prebendary John Hawkins as Archdeacon of Hampstead; Canon Isaac Poobalan as Provost of St Andrew’s Cathedral, Aberdeen; the Revd Philip Barnes as Interim Administrator of the Shrine of Our Lady of Walsingham; Canon Susan Groom as Archdeacon of Wiltshire.

The Revd Kathy Jones as Dean of Bangor; the Revd Dr Jeremy Duff as Principal of St Padarn’s Institute; the Revd Elizabeth Snowden as Archdeacon of Chelmsford; the Ven. Philip Down and the Ven. Stephen Taylor as joint Acting Archdeacons of Canterbury; the Revd Paul Benfield SSC as Chairman of the Catholic Group in the General Synod; Canon Gavin Kirk as Archdeacon of Lincoln; the Revd Simon Holland as Warden of Lee Abbey; the Ven. Andrew Tremlett as Dean of Durham.


LAY appointments included those of Professor Nayer Fardows as Principal of Edwardes College, Pakistan; Caroline Spelman MP as Second Church Estates Commissioner; William Nye as General Secretary of the Archbishops’ Council and the General Synod; Frank Field MP as Chair of the Cathedrals Fabric Commission.

Beverley Jullien as Chief Executive of the Mothers’ Union; Sister Carole OHP as Prioress of the Order of the Holy Paraclete; Caroline Mockford as Provincial Registrar of York; Robert Key as Chair of the Governors of Salisbury Cathedral School; Sister Edith Margaret CHN as Provincial Superior of the Community of the Holy Name; Jayne Ozanne as Director of Accepting Evangelicals.

Peter Holloway as chief executive of the Prison Fellowship; Heather Templeton Dill as President of the Templeton Foundation.


THE Revd Dr Russell Barr was appointed Moderator of the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland.

Browse Church and Charity jobs on the Church Times jobsite

The Church Times Archive

Read reports from issues stretching back to 1863, search for your parish or see if any of the clergy you know get a mention.

FREE for Church Times subscribers.

Explore the archive

Welcome to the Church Times


To explore the Church Times website fully, please sign in or subscribe.

Non-subscribers can read four articles for free each month. (You will need to register.)