*** DEBUG END ***

RSCM lists awards and appointments

27 March 2015

THE following appointments are announced: Miles Quick, Director of Music of St Mary Magdalene's, Taunton, to be Head of Congregational and Instrumental Music; Simon Russell, Organist of St Mary's, Nantwich, to be North of England Co-Ordinator.

The following are to be presented in St Edmundsbury Cathedral on 3 October:

Fellowship of the RSCM(for achievements of international significance or exceptional work for the RSCM): Martin Baker, Master of Music of Westminster Cathedral; Canon Dr Giles Bryant, former Organist and Master of the Choristers of St James's Cathedral, Toronto; Paul Ellis, Organist and Director of the Choir of St Michael and All Angels, Christchurch, and New Zealand President of the RSCM; Andrew Millington, Director of Music at Exeter Cathedral; Andrew Nethsingha, Director of Music of St John's College, Cambridge; David Ogden, former Director of the RSCM Millennium Youth Choir, Director of the RSCM Chamber Choir, and Director of Music at Holy Trinity, Westbury-on-Trym.

Associateship of the RSCM (for achievements of national significance or important work for the RSCM): the Revd Helen Bent, Head of Ministerial Training designate at the RSCM; Dr Christopher Cockburn, former Organist and Choir Director of Grahamstown Cathedral, South Africa; Richard Darke, Director of Music of St John's, Knaresborough; Canon Peter Gould, Master of Music of Derby Cathedral; Alan Tavener, Director of Cappella Nova, of Strathclyde University Chamber Choir, and of Music of Jordanhill Parish Church, Glasgow; the Very Revd Michael Tavinor, Dean of Hereford Cathedral; Alistair Warwick, RSCM Co-Ordinator for Scotland, Director of Music of Holy Trinity Church, Stirling, and Conductor of Stirling University Chamber Choir.

Hon. Membership of the RSCM (for exceptional or very significant work for church music or the RSCM, not primarily musical or liturgical): the Very Revd Simon Aiken, Dean of the Highveld, South Africa; Robert Armstrong, inaug_urator, ex-officer, and trustee of the Guyon Wells RSCM Fellowship in New Zealand; Professor Colin Gibson, organist of Mornington Methodist Church, Dunedin.

Certificate of Special Service (for significant administrative work, or a significant contribution to church music or liturgy at a local level): Christine Alder, Durham; Philip Brunswick, America; Terence Carter, Oxford; Anne Connolly-Munt, Auckland, New Zealand; John Crothers, France; Graham Look, North-West Europe; Jane McKee, Peterborough and Northampton; Allan Packman, Christchurch, NewZealand; Margaret Penfound, Bristol and Swindon; Frank Smith, Derbyshire; Eric Wayman, Lincoln; Eunice Woof, Liverpool.

Browse Church and Charity jobs on the Church Times jobsite

The Church Times Archive

Read reports from issues stretching back to 1863, search for your parish or see if any of the clergy you know get a mention.

FREE for Church Times subscribers.

Explore the archive

Forthcoming Events

Green Church Awards

Awards Ceremony: 6 September 2024

Read more details about the awards


Festival of Preaching

15-17 September 2024

The festival moves to Cambridge along with a sparkling selection of expert speakers

tickets available


Inspiration: The Influences That Have Shaped My Life

September - November 2024

St Martin in the Fields Autumn Lecture Series 2024

tickets available



Festival of Faith and Literature

28 February - 2 March 2025

The festival programme is soon to be announced sign up to our newsletter to stay informed about all festival news.

Festival website


Visit our Events page for upcoming and past events 

Welcome to the Church Times


To explore the Church Times website fully, please sign in or subscribe.

Non-subscribers can read four articles for free each month. (You will need to register.)