13 March 2015

Bishop to retire

THE Rt Revd Dr Brian Castle, Suffragan Bishop of Tonbridge, and Hon. Canon of Rochester Cathedral, in Rochester diocese, since 2002, will retire at the end of October. Before his present appointments, he was Vice-Principal of Ripon College, Cuddesdon.

ABBOTT. The Revd Rachma Abbott, Priest-in-Charge of St Peter's, Westfield (Bath & Wells), to be Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) of Lyneham with Bradenstoke, and Priest-in-Charge of Woodhill (Salisbury).

ALLEN. The Revd Suzanna Allen, Assistant Curate in the Wareham Team Ministry, to be Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) of Wimborne Minster, and of Witchampton, Stanbridge and Long Crichel with Moor Crichel (Salisbury).

ARNOLD. The Revd Adrian Arnold, Vicar of Middleton Junction (Manchester), to be Team Vicar in the Staveley and Barrow Hill Team Ministry (Derby).

BATTY. The Revd Stephen Batty, Vicar of St Aldhelm with St Francis, Branksome, to be Rector of Bride Valley, remaining Hon. Canon of Salisbury Cathedral (Salisbury).

BELLENES. The Revd Peter Bellenes, formerly Priest-in-Charge of Marldon (Exeter), to be Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) of Duloe and Herodsfoot (Truro).

BENT. The Revd Helen Bent, Bishop's Adviser in Music and Worship (Sheffield), to be Head of Ministerial Training of the Royal School of Church Music.

BEYNON. The Revd Paul Beynon, Assistant Curate of Boscastle with Davidstow, to be Assistant Curate of the Boscastle and Tintagel Group (Truro).

BURROWS. The Revd Victoria Burrows, Priest-in-Charge of Royal Wootton Bassett, now Vicar, remaining Rural Dean of Calne (Salisbury).

BRYAN. The Revd Sherry Bryan, Priest-in-Charge of Blisland with St Breward, and of Helland, now Rector of Blisland with Temple, St Breward and Helland, remaining Hon. Canon of Truro Cathedral (Truro).

COOPER. The Revd Stephen Cooper, Team Vicar in the Fellside Team Ministry (Blackburn), to be Team Rector.

CRAIG PECK. The Revd Judy Craig Peck, NSM (Assistant Priest) of Yardley Hastings, Denton and Grendon with Castle Ashby and Whiston, to be Assistant Curate (Assistant Priest) of Guilsborough and Hollowell and Cold Ashby and Cottesbrooke with Great Creaton and Thornby and Ravensthorpe and Spratton (Peterborough).


ELLIOTT. The Revd Marilyn Elliott, Assistant Curate of Lanteglos by Fowey, of Lansallos, and of Talland, to be Priest-in-Charge of all three, remaining Priest-in-Charge of Lanreath, Pelynt and Bradoc (Truro).

FLAHERTY. The Revd Mandy Flaherty, Chaplain of the King's Cathedral School, Peterborough, to be also Chaplain of All Saints' C of E Primary School, Peterborough (Peterborough).

FLOATE. The Revd Rhona Floate, Priest-in-Charge of Wool and East Stoke, now Vicar, and Rural Dean of Purbeck (Salisbury).

GAY. The Revd Perran Gay, Canon Residentiary and Precentor of Truro Cathedral, and Chaplain of Epi-phany House, Kenwyn, to be Chap-lain of the Scilly Isles, and Re-searcher to the Bishop of Truro (Truro).

HAIGH. The Revd Nicholas Haigh, Mission Priest in St Thomas's Team Ministry, Crookes (Sheffield), to be Vicar of St Mark's, Haydock (Liverpool).

HAYES. The Revd Miranda Hayes, Priest-in-Charge of Earls Barton, to be also Rural Dean of Wellingborough (Peterborough).

IWUAGWU. The Revd Chukwu-emeka Iwuagwu, NSM of St Mary's Cathedral, Glasgow, and Chaplain of Glasgow Caledonian University (Glasgow & Galloway), to be house-for-duty Assistant Curate of Haselmere and Grayswood (Guildford).

JELLEY. The Revd Sophie Jelley, Vicar of St Andrew's, Burgess Hill (Chichester), to be Diocesan Director of Mission, Discipleship and Ministry, and Residentiary Canon of Durham Cathedral (Durham).

JORYSZ. The Revd Dr Ian Jorysz, Research Officer to the Bishop of Bradwell, Vicar of South Weald, and Rural Dean of Brentwood (Chelmsford), to be Senior Chaplain to the Bishop of Manchester (Manchester).

KIRLEW. The Revd Richard Kirlew, Rector of Colwyn (Swansea & Brecon), to be Team Vicar in the Three Valleys Team Ministry (Salisbury).

MACKENZIE. The Revd Andrew Mackenzie, Vicar of Effingham with Little Bookham (Guildford), to be Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) of Bradford Peverell, Stratton, Frampton and Sydling St Nicholas, and of Charminster and Stinsford (Salisbury).

MOORE-BICK. The Revd Elizabeth Moore-Bick, Team Vicar in the Clarendon Team Ministry, now also Chaplain of Salisbury Cathedral School (Salisbury).

MASON. The Revd Adrian Mason, Priest-in-Charge of Stoke by Nayland with Leavenheath and Polstead, and of Nayland and Wiston (St Edmundsbury & Ipswich), to be Rector of the Mid Elloe Group (Lincoln).

O'NEILL. The Revd Gary O'Neill, Director of Studies for Ordinands, now also Bishop's Adviser for Ministerial Development Review (Chester) (diocesan correction).

PARSONS. The Revd Michael Parsons, Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) of Boscastle with Davidstow, to be Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) of the Boscastle and Tintagel Group (Truro).

RITTMAN. The Revd Margaret Rittman, NS Assistant Curate of Martlesham with Brightwell (St Edmundsbury & Ipswich), to be NS Associate Priest.

ROWELL. The Rt Revd Dr Geoffrey Rowell, Hon. Assistant Bishop (Chichester), to be also Hon. Assistant Bishop (Portsmouth).

SELBY-BOOTHROYD. The Revd Richard Selby-Boothroyd, NSM of Royal Wootton Bassett, and Lyneham with Bradenstoke, now Priest-in-Charge of Lyneham with Bradenstoke, remaining NSM (Associate Priest) of Woodhill (Salisbury).

SHARP. The Revd Philip Sharp, Assistant Curate of Duloe and Herodsfoot, to be Priest-in-Charge, remaining Priest-in-Charge of St Martin, with St Nicholas, Looe, and of Morval, and Rural Dean of West Wivelshire (Truro).

THORBURN. The Revd Guy Thorburn, Vicar of Great Clacton, Area Dean of St Osyth, and Assistant Curate (Associate Priest) designate in the Harwich Peninsula Team Ministry, to be also Area Dean of Harwich (Chelmsford).

TRIFFITT. The Revd Jonathan Triffitt, Vicar of Southbroom, and Rural Dean of Devizes, to be Rector of Blandford Forum and Langton Long, and Assistant Rural Dean of Milton and Blandford (Salisbury).

VOTH HARMAN. The Revd Dr Karin Voth Harman, NSM of King's Cliffe, Bulwick and Blatherwycke and Laxton, and of Easton on the Hill and Collyweston, in Ketton, Collyweston, Easton-on-the-Hill, Tinwell and Wittering (Peterborough), to be Assistant Priest of both benefices.


PEDEN. The Revd Alison Peden, Rector of Holy Trinity, Stirling, to be Rector of St Modoc's, Doune, remaining Canon of St Ninian's Cathedral, Perth (St Andrews, Dunkeld & Dunblane).


The following to be Hon. Chaplains: the Revd Susannah Ellis (Beccles Squadron); the Revd Vincent Jupp (Birstall Squadron).


CHAPPELL. Margaret Chappell to be Lay Canon of Portsmouth Cathedral (Portsmouth).

COLE. Maureen Cole, Diocesan Secretary, to be also Lay Canon of Derby Cathedral (Derby).

COOPER. Jack Cooper, Diocesan Treasurer, to be also Lay Canon of Derby Cathedral (Derby).

DE LA HUNT. Megan de la Hunt to be Documentation Officer of Durham Cathedral (Durham).

DI TOMMASO. Lisa Di Tommaso to be Head of Collections of Durham Cathedral (Durham).

MAYNE. Marie-Thérèse Mayne to be Exhibitions Officer of Durham Cathedral (Durham).

PUGMIRE. Neil Pugmire to be Lay Canon of Portsmouth Cathedral (Portsmouth).

The Church Times Archive

Read reports from issues stretching back to 1863, search for your parish or see if any of the clergy you know get a mention.

FREE for Church Times subscribers.

Explore the archive

The 2019 Train-a-Priest Fund

Help train the next generation of priests - donate to the Church Times Train-a-Priest (TAP) Fund this Lent.

Donate online

Read more about this year's appeal

Job of the Week


Church Times: about us

Welcome to the Church Times

​To explore the Church Times website fully, please sign in or subscribe.

Non-subscribers can read five articles for free each month. (You will need to register.)