Committee appointed

26 July 2013


Consultant: the Dean of York, the Very Revd Vivienne Faull 

Consultant: the Dean of York, the Very Revd Vivienne Faull 

FIVE of those who voted against the last women-bishops Measure are among the 16 members of General Synod appointed to prepare fresh legislation, it was announced on Monday.

The Steering Committee will present the draft legislation at the Synod meeting in November. Its members are: the Revd Paul Benfield; Canon Jane Charman; Canon Robert Cotton; Dr Philip Giddings; Dr Paula Gooder; the Ven. Christine Hardman; Dr

Jamie Harrison; the Bishop of Rochester, the Rt Revd James Langstaff (chair); Susannah Leafe; the Revd Dr Rosemarie Mallett; Margaret Swinson (lay canon); Prebendary Roderick Thomas; the Bishop of Chichester, Dr Martin Warner; the Bishop of Dover, the Rt Revd Trevor Willmott; Canon Dagmar Winter; and the Very Revd Vivienne Faull (consultant).

Forthcoming Events

21-22 February 2020
Church Times Festival of Faith and Literature
For 2020 the Bloxham festival celebrates ‘The Power of Love’. Book tickets

26 March 2020
Theology Slam Live Final
Competition opens in November - more details coming soon. Read about the 2019 final

Welcome to the Church Times

​To explore the Church Times website fully, please sign in or subscribe.

Non-subscribers can read five articles for free each month. (You will need to register.)