*** DEBUG END ***

Review of 2012: Appointments

21 December 2012

lambeth palace

Lynne Tembey, commisioned by Dr Williams as the new Worldwide President of the Mothers' Union

Lynne Tembey, commisioned by Dr Williams as the new Worldwide President of the Mothers' Union

THE Bishop of Durham, the Rt Revd Justin Welby, was nominated in 2012 as the next Archbishop of Canterbury and Primate of All England. Dr Richard Clarke was elected Archbishop of Armagh and Primate of All Ireland, translated from Meath & Kildare. The Bishop of Masindi-Kitara, the Rt Revd Stanley Ntagali, was elected Archbishop of Uganda.

Other episcopal appointments during the year included those of the Very Revd Dr John Armes as Bishop of Edinburgh; Dr Martin Warner as Bishop of Chichester, translated from Whitby; the Revd Robert Hirschfeld as Bishop-Coadjutor of New Hampshire; the Revd Ellinah Wamukoya as Bishop of Swaziland.

The Revd Jonathan Clark as Area Bishop of Croydon; the Ven. Michael Ipgrave as Area Bishop of Woolwich; the Ven. Richard Atkinson as Suffragan Bishop of Bedford; the Revd Darren McCartney as Suffragan Bishop of the Arctic; the Revd Dr Edmund Condry as Area Bishop of Ramsbury; Canon Glyn Webster as Suffragan Bishop of Beverley and Provincial Episcopal Visitor.

Prebendary Nicholas McKinnel as Suffragan Bishop of Crediton; the Revd Philip North as Suffragan Bishop of Whitby, who subsequently withdrew from his nomination; the Rt Revd Jonathan Baker as Suffragan Bishop of Fulham, translated from Ebbsfleet; the Ven. Alison Taylor as Regional Bishop in Brisbane.

The Rt Revd Kenneth Clarke, Bishop of Kilmore, Elphin & Ardagh, as Mission Director of the South American Mission Society Ireland; the Rt Revd David Hamid, Suffragan Bishop in Europe, as new Co-chairman of IARCCUM; and the Most Revd David Moxon as the Archbishop of Canterbury's Representative to the Holy See, and Director of the Anglican Centre in Rome.

OTHER clerical appointments included those of the Revd Christopher Futcher as Archdeacon of Exeter; the Revd Lister Tonge as Dean of Monmouth; the Revd Paul Hooper as Archdeacon of Leeds; Canon Steven Betts as Archdeacon of Norfolk; the Revd Mark Beach as Dean of Rochester; the Very Revd Dr David Ison as Dean of St Paul's; Canon Victor Stacey as Dean of St Patrick's Cathedral, Dublin.

Canon Peter Wilcox as Dean of Liverpool; the Revd Dianna Gwilliams as Acting Archdeacon of Southwark; the Revd Nigel Genders as Head of School Policy of the Board of Education; the Revd Susan Macdonald as Dean of Edinburgh diocese; the Revd Wendy Callan as Dean of Killala; Canon Mark Bonney as Dean of Ely; the Revd Roger Hughes as Archdeacon of Carmarthen; the Revd Andrew Williams as Acting Dean of Bradford Cathedral; the Revd Jacqueline Searle as Archdeacon of Gloucester.

The Revd Ian Morgan as Archdeacon of Suffolk; the Revd Dr Peter Pike as Archdeacon of Montgomery; the Revd Ian Linton as Archdeacon of Elphin and Ardagh; the Ven. Roger Bush as Dean of Truro; the Revd Peter Rickman as Dean of Waikato; the Revd Jonathan Williams as Archdeacon of Newport; the Very Revd Vivienne Faull as Dean of York.

The Revd Peter Sutton as Archdeacon of the Isle of Wight; the Revd Dr Timothy Stratford as Archdeacon of Leicester; the Revd Sandra Pragnell as Dean of Limerick and Ardfert; the Revd Robert Miller as Archdeacon of Derry; Canon John Witcombe as Dean of Coventry; the Revd Barry Naylor as acting Dean of Leicester; the Revd Andrew Swift as Dean of Argyll & The Isles diocese; the Revd William Stuart-White as Archdeacon of Cornwall.

The Ven. John Green as Archdeacon Pastor of Coventry; the Revd Martin Gorick as Archdeacon of Oxford; the Revd Ruth Worsley as Archdeacon of Wiltshire; the Ven. Christopher Skilton as Archdeacon of Croydon; the Revd Alan Jevons as Archdeacon of Brecon; the Ven. Janet Henderson as Dean of Llandaff; Canon Duncan Green as Archdeacon of Northolt.

The Revd Matthew Reed as Chief Executive of the Children's Society; the Revd Arun Arora as Director of Communications for the Archbishops' Council; the Revd Philip Mounstephen as Executive Leader of the Church Mission Society; the Revd Andrew Wright as General Secretary of the Mission to Seafarers.

LAY appointments included Timothy Byram-Wigfield as Chairman of the Church Music Society; Dr Alastair Jones as Chief Executive of the Frontier Youth Trust; the Lord Luce as Chairman of the Crown Nominations Commission; Andrew Reid as Director of the RSCM; Dr Lindsay Newcombe as Vice-Chairman of Forward in Faith, and Dr Colin Podmore as Director; Lynne Tembey as Worldwide President of the Mothers' Union.

THE Egyptian Coptic Church elected Tawadros II as its new Pope. Also appointed were the Most Revd Dr Charles Brown as Papal Nuncio to Ireland; the Revd Dr Guy Liagre as General Secretary of the Conference of European Churches; Fi McLachlan as Chief Executive of Burrswood Hospital; Marnix Niemeijer as Chairman of Micah Challenge; and the Revd Lorna Hood as Moderator of the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland.


Browse Church and Charity jobs on the Church Times jobsite

The Church Times Archive

Read reports from issues stretching back to 1863, search for your parish or see if any of the clergy you know get a mention.

FREE for Church Times subscribers.

Explore the archive

Welcome to the Church Times


To explore the Church Times website fully, please sign in or subscribe.

Non-subscribers can read four articles for free each month. (You will need to register.)