Welsh awards for church musicians

22 November 2007

AT a ceremony in Bangor Cathedral on 17 November, the Archbishop of Wales made awards to recognise people of outstanding musical ability who contribute to worship. The recipients were:

The Archbishop of Wales’s Award in Church Music
Martin Brown, sub-organist at Bangor Cathedral; Geoffrey Jenkins, for 20 years Director of Music at St Cadoc’s, Caerleon; Margaret Parr, chorister at St Peter’s, Ruthin.

  The Archbishop also presented certificates, for musicians who contribute without being professionally trained, to the following:

The Archbishop of Wales’s Certificate of Merit in Church Music
Carolyn Baines, Gretta Davies, David Jones, Molly Jones, Louvaine Lloyd Jones (St Peter’s, Ruthin); Arthur Ellis (St David’s Welsh Church, Rhosllanerchngog); Arthur Jones (St Stephen’s, Newport); Dorothy Jones (St Mary’s, Caldicot); Roland Jones (St Mary’s, Burry Port); Michael McEvoy, Linda Mann (St Thomas’s, Rhyl); Wendy Windsor (St Augustine’s, Blackwood).

Welcome to the Church Times

​To explore the Church Times website fully, please sign in or subscribe.

Non-subscribers can read five articles for free each month. (You will need to register.)